Upcoming Lecture

Upcoming Lecture

Join us Monday, Oct. 26, for "A Virtual Evening With Colson Whitehead," bestselling author of "The Underground Railroad" and "The Nickel Boys," an Oprah's Book Club selection, and winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award.

Learn more

Pierce Past Lectures

2020: H.R. McMaster
"A conversation with H.R. McMaster"

2019: The Hon. Jed S. Rakoff
"Big Problems With Our Criminal Justice System—and How To Fix Them"

2019: Nikki Giovanni
"A conversation with Nikki Giovanni"

2018: Valerie Jarrett
"A conversation with Valerie Jarrett"

2018: Robert Gates
"A conversation with Dr. Robert Gates"

2017: N. Scott Momaday
"The Crisis of Identity Facing Native Americans and Indigenous Peoples"

2017: Roz Chast
"An Evening with Roz Chast"

2016: Leonard Pitts Jr.
"An Evening With Leonard Pitts"

2016: Marlon James
"The Books That Made Me Write Books"

2016: Eric H. Holder Jr.
"Principled Leadership: The Courage to Face Challenge"

2015: Edwidge Danticat
"Create Dangerously"

2014: Henry Louis Gates Jr.
"Genealogy and Genetics"

2014: E.J. Dionne
"Our Divided Political Heart: The Battle for the American Idea in an Age of Discontent"

2013: Junot Díaz
"An Evening With a Pulitzer Prize and New York Times Bestselling Author"

2013: Wole Soyinka
"Writing for Freedom"

2012: Robert Reich
"The Global Economy and the Future of Everything National"

2012: Carlos Fuentes
"From Law to Literature: A Personal Journey"

2011: Kay Redfield Jamison
"Minds on Fire: Mood Disorders and Creativity"

2011: Spike Lee
"America Through My Lens"

2009: Sherman Alexie
Without Reservations: An Urban Indian’s Comic, Poetic, and Highly Irreverent Look at the World"

2009: Suzan-Lori Parks
"An Evening with Suzan-Lori Parks"

2008: Twyla Tharp
"The Creative Habit"

2008: Cory Booker
"An Evening with Cory Booker"

2007: David Brooks
"How Does Being American Shape Us?"

2007: Philip Glass
"An Evening with Philip Glass"

2006: Cornel West
"Democracy Matters"

2006: Edward Albee
"Improvisation and the Creative Mind"

2005: Fareed Zakaria
"The Future of Freedom"

2005: Nina Totenberg
"The Supreme Court and Its Impact on You"

2004: Robert Pinsky
"Poetry in the World"

2004: Terry Tempest Wiliams
"The Open Space of Democracy"

2003: Anna Deavere Smith
"Snapshots: Glimpses of America in Change"

2003: David Halberstam
"The Children: The Unique Courage and Faith of Ordinary Citizens to Change America "

2002: Thomas Friedman
"Global Economy and American Foreign Policy"