Music Faculty & Staff

The faculty of the School of Music are theorists, historians, musicologists, composers, concert artists, music educators, and conductors outstanding in their specialties and dedicated to teaching. They have been trained at the finest graduate schools of music and conservatories. They perform in the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Tacoma Symphony Orchestra, Tacoma Concert BandPacific Northwest Ballet Northwest Sinfonietta, Seattle Opera, Seattle Gilbert & Sullivan Society, Portland Symphonic Choir, Portland Opera, Tacoma Opera, Vashon OperaKitsap Opera, and other noteworthy Northwest ensembles. They are active in state and national teaching organizations. Their devotion to teaching creates an environment which combines high standards with a commitment to student development.

Tracy Doyle

 

Keyboard


Tracy Doyle, Director

School of Music
253.879.3726
tadoyle@pugetsound.edu

 

 
Tanya Stambuk


Tanya Stambuk,

Director of Keyboard Studies, Professor of Piano

253.879.3732
tstambuk@pugetsound.edu

Wyatt Smith


Wyatt Smith,

Affiliate Artist, Organ & Harpsichord

253.879.3700

wdsmith@pugetsound.edu

Isabella Jie

 

Isabella Jie, Collaborative Pianist

253.879.3740

ijie@pugetsound.edu

Jinshil Yi

 

Jinshil Yi, Collaborative Pianist

253.879.3740

jyi@pugetsound.edu

  back to top  

 

Music Education

     
 Tina Huynh

 

Tina Huynh, Assistant Professor of Music Education
253.879.3585
tahuynh@pugetsound.edu

 

   

 

back to top    

Music Theory, Composition, Ethnomusicology, Musicology

Robert Hutchinson


Robert Hutchinson, Professor of Music Theory and Composition
253.879.2686
rhutchinson@pugetsound.edu

Gwynne Kuhner Brown
Gwynne Kuhner Brown, Professor of Musicology and Music Theory

253.879.3727
gkbrown@pugetsound.edu
 Dr. Ameera Nimjee

 

Ameera Nimjee, Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 

253.879.3783

animjee@pugetsound.edu


Matthew DelCiampo

Affiliate Professor of Musicology, Ethnomusicology

253.879.3700
mdelciampo@pugetsound.edu

 

Kim Davenport
Affiliate Professor of Musicology

253.879.3700
kdavenport@pugetsound.edu

 

James W. Doyle

Affiliate Professor of Musicology

253.879.3700

jdoyle@pugetsound.edu

  back to top    

Strings

     
Maria Sampen


Maria Sampen, Director of Strings, Professor of Violin

253.879.2657
msampen@pugetsound.edu

Anna Wittstruck
Anna Wittstruck, Director of Orchestras, Assistant Professor of Musicology

253.879.3305

awittstruck@pugetsound.edu

 Alistair MacRae

 

 

Alistair MacRae, Cordelia Wikarski-Miedel Artist in Residence, Cello & Chamber Music

253.879.3725

admacrae@pugetsound.edu

Catherine Case


Catherine Case, Affiliate Artist, Harp

253.879.3700

ccase@pugetsound.edu

 

 

 

Abe Landa

 

Abe Landa, Affiliate Artist, Guitar

253.879.3700

alanda@pugetsound.edu

Joyce Ramee


Joyce A. Ramee, Affiliate Artist, Viola

253.879.3697

jaramee@pugetsound.edu

Stephen Schermer


Stephen Schermer, Affiliate Artist, Double Bass

253.879.3700

sschermer@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top    

Voice

     

Dawn Padula


Dawn Padula, Director of Vocal Studies, Professor of Voice, Mezzo-Soprano

253.879.3583
dpadula@pugetsound.edu

Steven Zopfi
Steven Zopfi, Director of Choral Activities, Professor of Music, Conductor, Adelphians and Voci d'Amici

253.879.3953
szopfi@pugetsound.edu
J. Edmund Hughes


J. Edmund Hughes, Conductor of Chorale

253.879.3700

jehughes@pugetsound.edu

 

Christina Kowalski
Christina Kowalski, Affiliate Artist, Soprano

253.978.2610
ckowalski@pugetsound.edu
Kathryn Lehmann


Kathryn Lehmann, Conductor of Dorian Singers, Affiliate Artist, Soprano

253.879.3733
klehmann@pugetsound.edu

 

Jeff Caldwell, Collaborative Piano and Vocal Coach

253.879.3370
jcaldwell@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top    

Winds and Percussion

Gerard Morris


Gerard Morris, 
Director of Bands, Department Chair of Winds and Percussion, Associate Professor of Music
253.879.3729
gmorris@pugetsound.edu

Rodger Burnett


Rodger Burnett, Affiliate Artist, French horn

253.879.1523

rburnett@pugetsound.edu

 Noelle Burns


Noelle Burns, Woodwind Techniques, Oboe

253.879.3700
nburns@pugetsound.edu

Karla Flygare


Karla Warnke Flygare, Affiliate Artist, Flute and Piccolo

253.879.3159

kflygare@pugetsound.edu

Tracy Knoop

 

Tracy Knoop, Jazz Orchestra Director

253.879.3700

tknoop@pugetsound.edu

David Krosschell

 

David Krosschell, Affiliate Artist, Trombone

253.879.3700
dkrosschell@pugetsound.edu

Jeffery Lund
Jeffery Lund, Affiliate Artist, Percussion

253.879.3728

jlund@pugetsound.edu
Jennifer Nelson


Jennifer Nelson, Affiliate Artist, Clarinet

253.879.3700

jnelson@pugetsound.edu

Francine Peterson

 

Francine Peterson, Affiliate Artist, Bassoon

253.879.3700
ffloydpeterson@pugetsound.edu


 

Ryan Schultz
Ryan Schultz, Affiliate Artist, Tuba and Euphonium

253.879.3700
rschultz@pugetsound.edu
Judson Scott


Judson Scott, Affiliate Artist, Trumpet

253.879.1523
jscott@pugetsound.edu

Dan Williams


Dan Williams, Affiliate Artist, Oboe

253.879.3700
dwilliams@pugetsound.edu

Fred Winkler


Fred Winkler, Affiliate Artist, Saxophone

253.879.3700

fwinkler@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top    

Music Staff

     

 

Karissa Valine-Plaza, 
Operations Manager

253.879.3740

kvalineplaza@pugetsound.edu

Pam Taylor

 

Pam Taylor, Outreach and Events Coordinator

253.879.3741
pataylor@pugetsound.edu

 

Ryan Del Rosario


Ryan Del Rosario, Music Recruitment Coordinator

253.879.3228
rdelrosario@pugetsound.edu

Nicole Mulhausen


Nicole Mulhausen, Schneebeck Concert Hall Manager

253.879.8564
nmulhausen@pugetsound.edu

Kristen Murphy

 

Kristen Murphy, Community Music Department Director

253.879.3575
kmurphy@pugetsound.edu

 

Melissa Clarke

 

 

Melissa Clarke, Community Music Department Program Assistant

253.879.3575

meclarke@pugetsound.edu

 

John McDonald, Schneebeck Concert Hall Technical Director

253.879.8564

jdmcdonald@pugetsound.edu

 

Stephen Abeshima, Schneebeck Concert Hall Assistant Technical Director

253.879.8564

sabeshima@pugetsound.edu

 

back to top