Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Professor

Dexter Gordon

dgordon@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies and Communication Studies
Director, African American Studies Program

BA, Jamaica Theological Seminary, 1984
MA, Wheaton College, 1991
PhD, Indiana University, 1998

Grace Livingston

glivingston@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies Program

BA, Jamaica Theological Seminary, 1984
MS, PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1991, 2003

Associate Professor

Renee E. Simms

rsimms@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, African American Studies

BA, University of Michigan, 1988
JD, Wayne State University Law School, 1992
MFA, Arizona State University, 2007

Visiting Assistant Professor

LaToya T. Brackett

lbrackett@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, African American Studies
Race and Pedagogy Institute

BA, Cornell University, 2006
MA, PhD, Michigan State University, 2011

Committee

Nancy Bristow

nbristow@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

BA, Colorado College, 1980
MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1983, 1989

Rachel DeMotts

rdemotts@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Director, Environmental Policy and Decision Making

BA, Marquette University, 1995
MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2000, 2005

Robin Jacobson

rjacobson@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Politics and Government

BS, Johns Hopkins University, 1996
PhD, University of Oregon, 2004

James Jasinski

jjasinski@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Communication Studies

BA, MA, Northern Illinois University, 1978, 1980
PhD, Northwestern University, 1986

Carolyn Weisz

cweisz@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Psychology

BA, Stanford University, 1987
MA, PhD, Princeton University, 1989, 1992