Music Faculty & Staff

The faculty of the School of Music are theorists, historians, musicologists, composers, concert artists, music educators, and conductors outstanding in their specialties and dedicated to teaching. They have been trained at the finest graduate schools of music and conservatories. They perform in the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Tacoma Symphony Orchestra, Pacific Northwest Ballet Northwest Sinfonietta, and other noteworthy Northwest ensembles. They are active in state and national teaching organizations. Their devotion to teaching creates an environment that combines high standards with a commitment to student development.

Keyboard

     
Duane Hulbert

Duane Hulbert, Chair of Piano, Professor of Music
253.879.3305
dhulbert@pugetsound.edu

Tanya Stambuk
Tanya Stambuk, Professor of Piano
253.879.3732
tstambuk@pugetsound.edu
Joseph Adam

Joseph Adam, Affiliate Artist, Organ and Harpsichord
253.879.3700
jadam@pugetsound.edu

 

Jooeun Pak, Visiting Assistant Professor of Piano

253.879.3732

jpak@pugetsound.edu

  back to top    

Music Business

     
 width=

Keith Ward, Director of School of Music, Professor of Music
253.879.3700
kward@pugetsound.edu

   
  back to top    

Music Education

     

Pat Krueger, Professor of Music Education
253.879.3585
krueger@pugetsound.edu

 

  Sarah Samuelson, Visiting Instructor of Music Education
253.879.2687
ssamuelson@pugetound.edu
 
  back to top    

Music Theory & Composition, Music History

Geoffrey Block

Geoffrey Block, Distinguished Professor of Music History
253.879.3726
block@pugetsound.edu

Gwynne Brown
Gwynne Kuhner Brown, Associate Professor of Music History and Music Theory
253.879.3727
gkbrown@pugetsound.edu
Robert Hutchinson

Robert Hutchinson, Professor of Music Theory and Composition
253.879.2686
rhutchinson@pugetsound.edu

 

Paul Harris
Paul Harris, Visiting Assistant Professor Music History and Music Theory
253.879.2467
pharris@pugetsound.edu
  back to top    

Strings

     
maria sampen

Maria Sampen, Director of Strings, Associate Professor of Violin
253.879.2657
msampen@pugetsound.edu

David Requiro
David Requiro, Artist in Residence, Cello and Chamber Music
253.879.3725
drequiro@pugetsound.edu
 

Meta Weiss, Cordelia Wikarski Miedel Artist in Residence, Celloand Chamber Music
253.879.3725
mweiss@pugetsound.edu

   
Huw Edwards

Huw Edwards, Orchestra Director
253.879.3700
hredwards@pugetsound.edu

Tim Christie
Tim Christie, Affiliate Artist, Violin
253.879.3733
tchristie@pugetsound.edu
Joyce Ramee

Joyce A. Ramee, Affiliate Artist, Viola
253.879.3697
jaramee@pugetsound.edu

Doug Rice
Doug Rice, Affiliate Artist, Guitar
253.879.3698
drice@pugetsound.edu
Stephen Schermer

Stephen Schermer, Affiliate Artist, Double Bass
253.879.3700
sschermer@pugetsound.edu

Patricia McNulty-Wooster
Patricia McNulty Wooster, Affiliate Artist, Harp
253.879.3700
pwooster@pugetsound.edu
  back to top    

Voice

     

Dawn Padula

Dawn Padula, Director of Vocal Studies, Assistant Professor of Voice, Mezzo-Soprano
253.879.3583
dpadula@pugetsound.edu

Steven Zopfi
Steven Zopfi, Director of Choral Activities, Associate Professor of Music, Conductor, Adelphians and Voci d'Amici
253.879.3953
szopfi@pugetsound.edu
Michael Delos

Michael Delos, Affiliate Artist, Bass-Baritone
253.879.3733
mdelos@pugetsound.edu

Christina Kowalski
Christina Kowalski, Affiliate Artist, Soprano
253.978.2610
ckowalski@pugetsound.edu
Kathryn Lehmann

Kathryn Lehmann, Affiliate Artist, Soprano
253.879.3733
klehmann@pugetsound.edu

   
  back to top    

Winds, Brass, and Percussion

Gerard Morris

Gerard Morris, Director of Bands, Assistant Professor of Music
253.879.3729
gmorris@pugetsound.edu

Rodget Burnett
Rodger Burnett, Affiliate Artist, French horn
253.879.1523
rburnett@pugetsound.edu
 

Noelle Burns, Woodwind Techniques, Oboe
253.879.3700
nburns@pugetsound.edu

David Requiro Gunnar Folsom, Affiliate Artist, Percussion
253.879.3700
gfolsom@pugetsound.edu
Karla Flygare

Karla Warnke Flygare, Affiliate Artist, Flute and Piccolo
253.879.3159
kflygare@pugetsound.edu

Tracy Knoop
Tracy Knoop, Jazz Band Director
253.879.3700
tknoop@pugetsound.edu
Jennifer Nelson

Jennifer Nelson, Affiliate Artist, Clarinet
253.879.3346
jnelson@pugetsound.edu

Elizabeth Paterson
Elizabeth Paterson, Affiliate Artist, Bassoon, Woodwind Techniques, Bassoon
253.879.3700
epaterson@pugetsound.edu
 

Francine Peterson, Affiliate Artist, Bassoon

253.879.3700
ffloydpeterson@pugetsound.edu

 

 

Ryan Schultz
Ryan Schultz, Affiliate Artist, Tuba and Euphonium
253.879.3700
rschultz@pugetsound.edu
Judson Scott

Judson Scott, Affiliate Artist, Trumpet
253.879.1523
jscott@pugetsound.edu

Dan Williams
Dan Williams, Affiliate Artist, Oboe
253.879.3700
dwilliams@pugetsound.edu
 
David Krosschell, Affiliate Artist, Trombone
253.879.1523
dkrosschell@pugetsound.edu
Fred Winkler
Fred Winkler, Affiliate Artist, Saxophone
253.879.3738
fwinkler@pugetsound.edu
  back to top    

Music Staff

     
Carole Christensen

Carole Christensen, School of Music Operations Manager
253.879.3740
cchristensen@pugetsound.edu

Leah Vance
Leah Vance, Administrative Assistant
253.879.3700
Rth Schauble

Ruth Schauble, Music Admission Coordinator
253.879.3228
music.admission@pugetsound.edu

Denes Van Parys, School of Music Staff Accompanist
253.879.3700
dvanparys@pugetsound.edu
Nicole Mulhausen

Nicole Mulhausen, Schneebeck Concert Hall Manager
253.879.3381
nmulhausen@pugetsound.edu

Kristen Murphy
Kristen Murphy, Community Music Department Director
253.879.3575
kmurphy@pugetsound.edu
 

Melissa Clarke, Community Music Department Program Assistant
253.879.3575
meclarke@pugetsound.edu

 



   
  back to top