Music Faculty & Staff

The faculty of the School of Music are theorists, historians, musicologists, composers, concert artists, music educators, and conductors outstanding in their specialties and dedicated to teaching. They have been trained at the finest graduate schools of music and conservatories. They perform in the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Tacoma Symphony Orchestra, Pacific Northwest Ballet Northwest Sinfonietta, and other noteworthy Northwest ensembles. They are active in state and national teaching organizations. Their devotion to teaching creates an environment that combines high standards with a commitment to student development.

Keyboard

     
Duane Hulbert

Duane Hulbert, Chair of Piano, Professor of Music
253.879.3305
dhulbert@pugetsound.edu

Tanya Stambuk
Tanya Stambuk, Professor of Piano
253.879.3732
tstambuk@pugetsound.edu
Joseph Adam

Joseph Adam, Affiliate Artist, Organ and Harpsichord
253.879.3700
jadam@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top    

Music Business

     
 width=

Keith Ward, Director of School of Music, Professor of Music
253.879.3700
kward@pugetsound.edu

   
  back to top    

Music Education

     

Pat Krueger, Professor of Music Education
253.879.3585
krueger@pugetsound.edu

 

Sarah Samuelson, Adjunct Instructor of Music Education

253.879.2826

sesamuelson@pugetsound.edu
 
  back to top    

Music Theory & Composition, Music History

Geoffrey Block

Geoffrey Block, Distinguished Professor of Music History
253.879.3726
block@pugetsound.edu

Gwynne Brown
Gwynne Kuhner Brown, Associate Professor of Music History and Music Theory
253.879.3727
gkbrown@pugetsound.edu
Robert Hutchinson

Robert Hutchinson, Professor of Music Theory and Composition
253.879.2686
rhutchinson@pugetsound.edu

 

Paul Harris
Paul Harris, Visiting Assistant Professor Music History and Music Theory
253.879.2467
pharris@pugetsound.edu
  back to top    

Strings

     
maria sampen

Maria Sampen, Director of Strings, Associate Professor of Violin
253.879.2657
msampen@pugetsound.edu

 Wesley Schulz
Wesley Schulz, Director of Orchestras

253.879.3700

 Tim Christie

Tim Christie, Affiliate Artist, Violin

253.879.3700

tchristie@pugetsound.edu

 

Catherine Case, Affiliate Artist, Harp

253.879.3700

 

 

 

 

Alistair MacRae, Cordelia Wikarski-Miedel Artist in Residence, Professor of Cello & Chamber Music

253.879.3725

Joyce Ramee

Joyce A. Ramee, Affiliate Artist, Viola

253.879.3697

jaramee@pugetsound.edu

Doug Rice

Doug Rice, Affiliate Artist, Guitar

253.879.3698

drice@pugetsound.edu

 Stephen Schermer

Stephen Schermer, Affiliate Artist, Double Bass

253.879.3700

sschermer@pugetsound.edu

 

  back to top    

Voice

     

Dawn Padula

Dawn Padula, Director of Vocal Studies, Assistant Professor of Voice, Mezzo-Soprano
253.879.3583
dpadula@pugetsound.edu

Steven Zopfi
Steven Zopfi, Director of Choral Activities, Associate Professor of Music, Conductor, Adelphians and Voci d'Amici
253.879.3953
szopfi@pugetsound.edu

Edmund Hughes, Conductor of Chorale

253.879.3700

jehughes@pugetsound.edu

 

Christina Kowalski
Christina Kowalski, Affiliate Artist, Soprano
253.978.2610
ckowalski@pugetsound.edu
Kathryn Lehmann

Kathryn Lehmann, Affiliate Artist, Soprano
253.879.3733
klehmann@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top    

Winds, Brass, and Percussion

Gerard Morris

Gerard Morris, Director of Bands, Assistant Professor of Music
253.879.3729
gmorris@pugetsound.edu

Rodget Burnett

Rodger Burnett, Affiliate Artist, French horn

253.879.1523

rburnett@pugetsound.edu

 

Noelle Burns, Woodwind Techniques, Oboe
253.879.3700
nburns@pugetsound.edu

Karla Flygare

Karla Warnke Flygare, Affiliate Artist, Flute and Piccolo

253.879.3159

kflygare@pugetsound.edu

Tracy Knoop

Tracy Knoop, Jazz Band Director

253.879.3700

tknoop@pugetsound.edu

David Krosschell, Affiliate Artist, Trombone

253.879.3700
dkrosschell@pugetsound.edu

 
Jeffery Lund, Affiliate Artist, Percussion

253.879.3700

jlund@pugetsound.edu
Jennifer Nelson

Jennifer Nelson, Affiliate Artist, Clarinet

253.879.3700

jnelson@pugetsound.edu

Elizabeth Paterson

Elizabeth Paterson, Affiliate Artist, Woodwind Techniques, Bassoon

253.879.3700
epaterson@pugetsound.edu

Francine Peterson, Affiliate Artist, Bassoon

253.879.3700

ffloydpeterson@pugetsound.edu
Ryan Schultz

Ryan Schultz, Affiliate Artist, Tuba and Euphonium
253.879.3700
rschultz@pugetsound.edu

Judson Scott
Judson Scott, Affiliate Artist, Trumpet

253.879.1523
jscott@pugetsound.edu

Dan Williams
Dan Williams, Affiliate Artist, Oboe

253.879.3700
dwilliams@pugetsound.edu

 Fred Winkler

Fred Winkler, Affiliate Artist, Saxophone

253.879.3700

fwinkler@pugetsound.edu

  back to top    

Music Staff

     
Carole Christensen

Carole Christensen, School of Music Operations Manager
253.879.3740
cchristensen@pugetsound.edu

Leah Vance

Leah Vance, Administrative Assistant
253.879.3700

lvance@pugetsound.edu

Rth Schauble

Ruth Schauble, Music Admission Coordinator
253.879.3228
music.admission@pugetsound.edu

Denes Van Parys, School of Music Staff Accompanist
253.879.3700
dvanparys@pugetsound.edu

Nicole Mulhausen

Nicole Mulhausen, Schneebeck Concert Hall Manager
253.879.3381
nmulhausen@pugetsound.edu

Kristen Murphy
Kristen Murphy, Community Music Department Director
253.879.3575
kmurphy@pugetsound.edu
 

Melissa Clarke, Community Music Department Program Assistant
253.879.3575
meclarke@pugetsound.edu

 



 Angela Draghicescu

Angela Draghicescu, School of Music Staff Accompanist

253.879.3700

adraghicescu@pugetsound.edu

 

 

  back to top