Referral Guide for Student Concerns

2018-2019

Please refer a student who is:

Emotionally distressed, physically ill, or suicidal

·         Counseling, Health, & Wellness Services (CHWS): x1555, chws@pugetsound.edu

    (After hours or if no answer, call Security Services x3311)

In need of informing professors that a student will be absent from class for a week or more

due to sickness or family emergency

·         Academic Advising: x3250, aa@pugetsound.edu

·         Sarah Shives, Assistant Dean of Students: x3325, sshives@pugetsound.edu  

In need of advice about medical or emergency withdrawal

·         Sarah Shives, Assistant Dean of Students: x3325, sshives@pugetsound.edu

·         Academic Advising: x3250, aa@pugetsound.edu      

In need of advice about a leave of absence, permanent withdrawal, or transfer to another school

·         Academic Advising: x3250, aa@pugetsound.edu

·         Sarah Shives, Assistant Dean of Students: x3325, sshives@pugetsound.edu    

In need of advice about finances

·         Maggie Mittuch, Director of Student Financial Services: x3198, mmittuch@pugetsound.edu

In need of spiritual or religious support

·         David Wright, University Chaplain: x2751, dwright@pugetsound.edu

In need of assistance for a learning or physical disability, including short term injury

·         Peggy Perno, Director of Student Accessibility & Accommodations: x2692,  pperno@pugetsound.edu  

In need of advice about choosing a major or discussing strategies for addressing academic warning or probation

·         Faculty Advisor

·         Kariann Lee, Assistant Director of Academic Advising: x3336, klee@pugetsound.edu, or

          Landon Wade, Director of Academic Advising: x3651, lwade@pugetsound.edu   

In need of releasing an Advisor Meeting Registration Hold to register because student’s advisor is unavailable or on leave

·         Academic Advising: x3250, aa@pugetsound.edu

 In need of advice about career opportunities or career counseling

·         Career and Employment Services: x3161, ces@pugetsound.edu         

 In need of information about graduate scholarships and national fellowships

·         Kelli Delaney, Associate Director of Fellowships & Academic Advising: x3329, kdelaney@pugetsound.edu 

 Making a complaint about a grade or a faculty member

·         Department Chair

·         Michael Pastore, Registrar: x3529, mpastore@pugetsound.edu


Making a sexual harassment complaint or a complaint about discrimination based on religion,  

race, age, disability, sexual orientation, etc.

·         Tiffany Davis, Associate Director of Diversity & Inclusion & Deputy Title IX Coordinator:   

x3793, tddavis@pugetsound.edu

·         Michael Benitez, Chief Diversity Officer: x3929, mbenitez@pugetsound.edu

·         Keith Woody, Director of Talent Management: x3541, kwoody@pugetsound.edu

·         Kris Bartanen, Provost: x3205, provost@pugetsound.edu

·         Debbie Chee, Associate Dean of Students & Director of Residence Life: x2640,   dchee@pugetsound.edu

·         Grace Kirchner, Faculty Sexual Harassment Ombudsperson: x3785, kirchner@pugetsound.edu

·         Sunil Kukreja, Associate Academic Dean: x3588, kukreja@pugetsound.edu   

·         Mona Lawrence, Director of Student Employment Services: x3161, mlawrence@pugetsound.edu

·         Cindy Matern, Associate VP for Human Resources: x3116, cmatern@pugetsound.edu        

·         Vivie Nguyen, Director for Intercultural Engagement: x3373, vnguyen@pugetsound.edu  

·         Sarah Shives, Assistant Dean of Students: x3325, sshives@pugetsound.edu

In a life-threatening situation or is posing an imminent threat to self or others

·         Security Services: x3311

Out of class for unknown reasons

·         Academic Advising: x3250, aa@pugetsound.edu

Suspected of being missing

·         Security Services: x3311       

·         Office of the Dean of Students: x3360, dos@pugetsound.edu

Alleged to have violated the Academic Honesty Policy

·         Michael Pastore, Registrar: x3529, mpastore@pugetsound.edu

Alleged to have violated the Computer and Network Acceptable Use Policy

·         Technology Services: x8585, servicedesk@pugetsound.edu

Alleged to have violated the Student Integrity Code

·         Jessica Pense, Director of Student Conduct: x3439, jpense@pugetsound.edu

_______________________________________________________________________________________

To report a student death:

·         Security Services: x3311

·         Dean of Students: x3360, dos@pugetsound.edu        

For consultation regarding immigration enforcement re:  undocumented or documented immigrant persons:

·         Todd Badham, Director of Security Services: x3313, tbadham@pugetsound.edu

·         Cindy Matern, Associate VP for Human Resources: x3116, cmatern@pugetsound.edu 

·         Michael Pastore, Registrar: x3529, mpastore@pugetsound.edu

·         Dave Wright, University Chaplain: x3818, dwright@pugetsound.edu

                                                                          

Please feel free to refer any student to the Office of the Dean of Students for further assistance.

Office of the Dean of Students, Wheelock Student Center Room 208, x3360, dos@pugetsound.edu