Invitation to Participate in Strategic Planning

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

As shared with you over the course of my “listening and learning” tour of campus last year, the university will embark this year on a process to create a strategic plan that will advance our mission and establish our vision for the next decade.

Working in concert with Board of Trustees Chair Robert Pohlad P’07, Faculty Senate Chair Alisa Kessel, Staff Senate Chair Anna Coy, ASUPS President Amanda Diaz ’17, and Alumni Council President Andrea Tull Davis ’02, a steering committee has been formed to provide advice and feedback on the process; identify key issues and questions that will have a particularly strong impact on the future of the college; and make recommendations to ensure a successful, campuswide effort in which all will have the opportunity to share their viewpoints and perspectives. The steering committee will involve other members of the campus community as needed for further exploration of emerging goals and opportunities.

To assist us with the coordination of this project, we have engaged experienced planning consultants Peter Facione, Ph.D., and Carol Gittens, Ph.D., of the firm Measured Reasons. They will be on campus Sept. 5 and 6 to meet with the steering committee and to host a Strategic Planning Community Conversation on Wednesday, Sept. 6, at 3 p.m., in the Tahoma Room. All students, faculty, and staff are welcome to attend. Additional community conversations will be scheduled for October and November, and during the spring semester, as well.

More information about opportunities to participate in and learn about this year-long process is available at This website includes bios for our consultants, a list of steering committee members, a timeline for the work and opportunities for input.

I look forward to an engaging and inclusive process that brings forth our best thinking about the future of Puget Sound and what we as a university community are called to do in the decade to come. Thank you for your engagement in this important work.


Isiaah Crawford, Ph.D. | President

2017–18 Strategic Planning Steering Committee

Kris Bartanen
Academic Vice President and Dean of the University
Interim Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Dave Beers P’11
Vice President for University Relations 

Gwynne Brown ’95
Associate Professor, School of Music

Isiaah Crawford
President and Steering Committee Chair

Andrea Tull Davis ’02
President, Alumni Council

Laura Martin-Fedich
Vice President for Enrollment

Maya Fletes-Martinez ’19

Jeremy Korst ’97

Gayle McIntosh
Vice President for Communications and Chief of Staff

Kyle Miller ’18

Nick Mitchell ’18

Maggie Mittuch ’82
Associate Vice President for Student Financial Services

Sherry Mondou
Vice President for Finance and Administration

Deanna Oppenheimer ’80, P’11, P’14

Ellen Peters P’19
Director, Institutional Research and Retention

Robert Pohlad P ’07
Parent and Chair, Puget Sound Board of Trustees

Renee Simms
Assistant Professor, African American Studies

Moe Stephens II
Director, Student Activities

Lyle Quasim ’70, Hon. ’05

Peter Wimberger
Professor, Biology
Director, Slater Museum of Natural History