The Fred S. Wyatt Scholarship recognizes outstanding undergraduate students who have the potential to receive further distinction through major fellowship programs. Two students will be named Wyatt Scholars for the 2024-2025 academic year and each will receive a $12,400 scholarship.

Nominations due Monday, February 19, 2024

Nomination form


Scholarship nomination procedures:

Only students nominated by the faculty are eligible. All faculty members are invited to nominate students who not only have exceptional academic records, but also meet the following criteria:

  • Senior class standing by the 2024 fall semester.
  • Understanding of the complexities and ambiguities of issues confronting society.
  • Outstanding leadership abilities and communication skills.
  • Potential to perform in graduate school and to receive further distinction through major fellowship programs such as the Rhodes or Truman fellowship programs.

Nominees will be asked to submit the following to the Faculty Scholarship Committee:

  • Personal letter of introduction
  • Essay
  • Writing sample
  • Letter of recommendation from a University of Puget Sound professor

The committee will review the application materials and academic transcripts of each nominee before selecting the final recipients.

The Fred S. Wyatt Scholarship recipients are expected to be named no later than May 1, 2024. 

About the Wyatt Scholarship

The Fred S. Wyatt Memorial Scholarship was established by Mr. and Mrs. Lowry Wyatt in memory of Mr. Wyatt’s father. Born in 1890, Fred S. Wyatt was the great-grandson of the first Christian minister in the California territory. He worked in agriculture and related industries before retiring as vice-president and produce director of Gerber Products Company.

Lowry Wyatt, who also worked with the Gerber Products Company, joined the Weyerhaeuser Company in 1957 as personnel director, rising through a succession of positions to senior vice president in 1971. He remained a devoted friend of the University of Puget Sound until his death in 1996. A member of the Board of Trustees since 1970, he served as chairman of the board from 1986 to 1993. At the Commencement Ceremony in 1981, the university recognized his philanthropy and leadership by conferring upon him the honorary doctor of public service degree.