To assist you with your travel plans and housing plans, Residence Life would like to highlight important dates around when campus residences open and close. The academic calendar will have all dates and deadlines for the year.

Aug. 2

Monday

Upload vaccination documentation to the CHWS portal

Aug. 18 Wednesday Residential facilities open for new students with approved exemption from the COVID-19 vaccination (to allow for quarantine)
Aug. 21 Saturday Residential facilities open for all new students (first-year and transfer students)
Aug. 27/28/29 Friday/Saturday/Sunday Residential facilities open for all continuing students
Aug. 30 Monday Fall semester classes begin
Sept. 6 Monday Labor Day holiday (no classes)
Nov. 24–28 Wednesday–Sunday Thanksgiving holiday (no classes)
Nov. 29 Monday Classes resume
Dec. 8 Wednesday Last day of fall semester classes
Dec. 9–12 Thursday–Sunday Reading Period (no classes—student preparation for finals
Dec. 13–17 Monday–Friday Finals Week
Dec. 18 Saturday All residential facilities close (noon)
Dec. 18–Jan. 15   Winter break (all residential facilities closed)
Jan. 15 Saturday All residential facilities open (9 a.m.)
Jan. 17 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. holiday (no classes—MLK Day of Service)
Jan. 18 Tuesday Spring semester classes begin
March 14–18 Monday–Friday Spring break (all residential facilities remain open)
May 4 Wednesday Last day of spring semester classes
May 5–8 Thursday–Sunday Reading Period (no classes—student preparation for finals)
May 9–13 Monday–Friday Finals Week
May 14 Saturday All residential facilities close (noon)
May 15 Sunday Commencement (2 p.m.)
May 16 Monday Residential facilities close for graduating seniors (noon)