Dear Campus Community,

On Monday, Feb. 15, you will receive an invitation to participate in the HEDS Diversity and Equity Campus Climate Survey. This invitation will come from Your participation in this survey will allow us to gain information on student, faculty, and staff perceptions of Puget Sound’s climate, perceptions around Puget Sound’s support of diversity and equity, and a greater understanding of experiences with discrimination and harassment at Puget Sound.

This is our first year doing this specific survey. However, in the past, we have used a home-grown survey to gather the information that has helped influence efforts on campus, including:

  • Increased diversity in faculty hiring
  • Creation and expansion of all-gender bathrooms on campus
  • Development of staff diversity, equity, and inclusion training
  • The Tacoma Public Schools initiative
  • The Access Scholar Program
  • Becoming a POSSE campus

The survey usually takes less than 15 minutes to complete, and participants’ responses are anonymous.​ Since this survey aligns with our focus on and commitment to diversity and inclusion at Puget Sound, we greatly appreciate your participation.

Thank you,

Diversity Advisory Council
Amelia Bergen ’21
Tim Beyer, Associate Professor, Psychology
Sandra Braedt, Title IX Coordinator, Equal Opportunity Officer
Kelly Brown, Director, Counseling, Health, & Wellness Services
Allison Cannady-Smith, AVP, Constituent Relations, Alumni and Parent Relations
Regina Duthely, Assistant Professor, English
Lea Fortmann, Assistant Professor, Economics
Brittney Jackson, Asst. Director of Admissions and Multicultural Admissions Coordinator
Sunil Kukreja (Chair), Interim Chief Diversity Officer, Dean of Graduate Studies
Mimi Molotsky ’22
Alanna Muir, Assistant Director for Assessment, Institutional research
Vivie Nguyen, Director for Intercultural Engagement
Jada Pelger, Information Resources Coordinator, Collins Memorial Library
Ellen Peters, Associate Provost for Institutional Research, Planning and Student Success
Denise Powell, Training Specialist
Erin Ruff, Human Resources Manager
Tolu Taiwo, Assistant Director of Access Programs
Carolyn Weisz, Professor, Psychology
Dave Wright ’96, University Chaplain and Director for Spiritual Life and Civic Engagement