Contact Human Resources

To contact the staff below, please email hr@pugetsound.edu or call 253.879.3369. For Payroll inquiries, please email payroll@pugetsound.edu or call 253.879.3368. For Benefits inquiries, please email benefits@pugetsound.edu or call 253.879.3296.

Xanthia Alexander
HRIS Analyst
xalexander@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.2699

  • HR information systems / PeopleSoft HR subject matter expert
  • Reports, queries and employment data analysis

Joann Bearer
Human Resources Office Coordinator
jbearer@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3369

  • General Human Resources Inquiries
  • Verifications of Employment
  • HR Reception Services
  • Human Resources Master Calendar
  • HR Conference Room Reservation requests
  • Requests for Forms
  • HR Record Keeping
  • Application Tracking Assistance
  • Performance Review Program
  • Professional Development and Enrichment Conference
  • Staff Recognition Luncheon
  • HR event planning

Kevin Turner
Director of Compensation & Benefits
kpturner@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3416

  • Compensation and benefits program direction and oversight
  • Payroll direction and oversight
  • Budgeting for benefits and staff salaries
  • Staff salary increases and pay ranges
  • Oversight of staff compensation analysis and classifications
  • Job description guidance
  • Salary offers
  • FLSA determinations
  • Member of the Retirement Plan Advisory Committee (RPAC)
  • Manages legally-required benefits filings and notifications
  • Oversight of benefit contracts, plan documents, and summary plan descriptions
  • Salary and benefit surveys
  • Total compensation statements

Lisa Garrett

Lisa Garrett
Payroll Administrator
lgarrett@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3368

  • Payroll questions
  • Time sheet processing
  • Direct deposit enrollment
  • Form W-4 (federal withholding) changes 

Cindy Matern

Cindy Matern
Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Career & Employment Services
cmatern@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3116

Keith Woody
Director of Talent Management
kwoody@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3541

Donelle Pearson

Donelle Pearson, PHR, SHRM-CP
DCS Human Resources Generalist
drpearson@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.1568

Key duties specific to Dining and Conference Services:

  • Recruitment
  • Employment
  • Eligibility to Work (e.g., I-9, Visa status, immigration)
  • Employee Relations 
  • Professional development and training
  • Liaison between DCS staff and university Human Resources team
  • Performance Management
  • Recognition & Rewards Programs

Erin Ruff

Erin Ruff
Human Resources Manager
eruff@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3640

  • Recruitment
  • Advertising
  • Interviewing
  • Hiring Processes
  • Eligibility to Work (e.g., I-9, Visa status, immigration)
  • Staff Recruitment Expenses
  • Staff Moving Reimbursements
  • Professional Development

Kenni Simons
Benefits Manager, SHRM-CP
krsimons@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3296