Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate was established in 1965. It consists of an elected chair, who serves a term of two years, and eleven elected members of the faculty, who serve terms of three years. The Academic Dean, the Dean of Students, and two students from ASUPS also serve on the Senate. The following excerpt from the Faculty Code and Bylaws describes the general mission of the Faculty Senate:


Sec. 1. Purpose. The Faculty Senate, hereafter referred to as the Senate, shall serve as an Executive Committee of the Faculty and shall study, advise, recommend, and initiate programs of action for the good of the University and communicate its findings and proposals to the Faculty, the Administration, the Board of Trustees, and other appropriate bodies.