It has been another wonderful year for the UEC.

UEC ex-officio: John Finney

<u>UEC faculty</u>: Bill Barry, Doug Edwards, John McCuistion, John Rindo, Fred Slee, Kathy Stewart, David Tinsley (Chair), Wade Hands, David Smith, Rand Worland, Paul Huo.

UEC students: Ryan Hagg and Sarah Brock

CHARGES FROM THE FACULTY SENATE:

1) To revise the wording of the text regarding "Release Units" from the faculty document on research and travel.

This wording was analyzed, revised, and submitted to Terry Cooney for approval.

2) To promote the 1998 Regester Lecture, delivered by Denise Despres (English).

Denise's lecture was attended by an estimated 250 people. It was extremely well received.

3) To select the 2000 Regester Lecturer

James Evans of the Physics Department was selected as the Regester lecturer for the year 2000. It is tentatively scheduled for November 15, 2000.

4) To select the recipient of the Dirt Andrew Phibbs Memorial Award

Betsy Kirkpatrick of the Biology Department received this year's Phibbs Award for her research on Eschscholzia californica's introduction to Washington State.

Additional Highlights:

The Travel Subcommittee (John Finney, Doug Edwards, John McCuistion, John Rindo, David Tinsley, Wade Hands, Paul Huo and Sarah Brock) met every two weeks to review and approve requests for conference travel.

The Research Subcommittee (John Finney, Bill Barry, Doug Edwards, Fred Slee, Kathy Stewart, Rand Worland, and Ryan Hagg) reviewed and approved faculty and student applications for research fellowships.

The full committee reviewed applications for faculty release units and made its recommendations to the AVP.

The UEC considered the proposal from the Department of Foreign Languages that the per diem allowance for faculty conference travel be increased. The UEC applied for

and received an increase in funding from the Budget Task Force, allowing for an increase in the per diem from \$90 a day to \$100 a day, pending final approval by the Deanery.

The UEC reviewed and approved new wording on the application forms for Course and Seminar Funding and Travel Funding request forms, as proposed by John Finney.

Respectfully submitted,

David F. Tinsley Chair, UEC

cc. Committee Members and John Finney