## **Professional Standards Committee Minutes September 30, 1998**

**Members present:** N. Bristow, A. Butcher, T. Cooney, C. Hale, J. Hanson, K.A. Miller, K. Rousslang

The meeting was called to order at 2:05.

John Hanson was elected chair of the committee for 1998-1999.

Cooney directed the attention of the committee to the issue of possible difficulties for faculty receiving Martin Nelson Junior Sabbatical Awards resulting from the proposed change in the language of the code which makes the requirement of four semesters of student evaluations an explicit one. Following extensive discussion the committee M/S/P the following:

In the judgment of the Professional Standards Committee, faculty members receiving Martin Nelson Junior Sabbatical Awards who joined the faculty in the academic year 1995-1996 or earlier should be eligible to be considered for tenure with three semesters of student evaluations in their files rather than four, subject to the judgment of the Faculty Advancement Committee under the Faculty Code that these evaluations provide sufficient information on which to base a recommendation.

Explanation: The amendments to the Faculty Code proposed to the Board of Trustees by the faculty change the requirement of two years worth of student evaluations before tenure to four semesters of student evaluations. In recent years the Faculty Advancement Committee has accepted three semesters of evaluations for those who have been on leave for a semester with a Martin Nelson Junior Sabbatical Award (assuming sufficient numbers and a judgment of adequate information). Junior faculty receiving these awards in 1997-98 or before sometimes inquired about the question of evaluations and were told what the FAC policy had been. They have gone on leave with the understanding that three semesters of evaluations are likely to be sufficient. With the change in the Code, they would be forced to delay tenure consideration at least one semester unless grandparented against the changes already recommended.

The committee next agreed that the coming meeting will be devoted to organizing the work on the Department Evaluation Criteria project.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:53.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy K. Bristow