University Enrichment Committee Meeting Minutes Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 3:30-4:20 PM Collins Memorial Library - Misner Room

Attendees: Sunil Kukreja, Terry Beck, Jess Smith, Dawn Padula, Randy Worland, Maria Sampen (Faculty Senate liaison), Erin Colbert White, Roger Allen, Rachel Pepper, Alex Plant, Chili Johnson

Secretary of the Day: Roger Allen

AGENDA ITEMS DISCUSSED:

Election of Committee Chair

After the committee members introduced themselves, Faculty Senate liaison, Maria Sampen directed Committee to elect a chair. In consideration of her exemplary performance in the role last year, Dawn Padula was nominated by Jess Smith. Dawn graciously accepted the nomination, and was elected to serve as AY2015-16 chair by the full committee.

Minutes

Minute taking will rotate this year among Committee members, proceeding alphabetically. The following is a rotation list of minute takers (excluding Committee chair, student members and Associate Dean):

Sept 2, 2015 - Roger Allen Oct 1, 2015 - Terry Beck Erin Colbert White Mark Martin Rachel Pepper Jess Smith Randy Worland

Senate Charges

Faculty Senate Liaison, Maria Sampen, distributed copies of the UEC AY2014-15 End of Year Report to the Senate. She indicated that the Senate has not established any specific charges for the UEC yet, in addition to the Committee's standing charges. She did, however, refer us to the suggested additional self-charges contained on page 6 of the AY2014-15 End of Year Report. These include the following (as extracted from the Report):

"SUGGESTED SENATE CHARGES FOR NEXT YEAR'S COMMITTEE:

1. Create a standardized rubric for evaluation of Faculty Research Award applications and reflect any changed wording in the Faculty Research Award application itself.

Such a rubric would mirror the newly-established and adopted rubric for evaluation of Student Research Award applications.

2. Determine the need to establish a guideline for funding on-line public access publication fees.

Please refer to Item #4 under the sub-category "Other Noteworthy UEC Activity" of this report. In addition, the minutes from the meeting on April 22, 2015 can provide further insight into the discussion on the topic thus far.

In addition to Senate Charges, this year's committee requests that next year's committee:

- 1. Utilize and revisit the attached rubric for evaluating Student Research Award applications for fine-tuning, remembering to reflect any wording changes in the published application.
- 2. Ask that all committee members read all applications for faculty and student research (in lieu of splitting into subcommittees), thus divvying up the work more equitably amongst members.
- 3. Consider adding the same IACUC wording added to the Student Research Award application this past year to the Faculty Research Award application if deemed necessary."

As a final charge, Maria also mentioned that ASUPS Finance Committee is interested in getting assistance and/or advice from the UEC regarding a decision-making structure that they can apply to their deliberations regarding ASUPS student travel awards.

Sunil received confirmation from Maria that the UEC may pursue other activities and discussions that the Committee deems appropriate which are not specifically addressed in Senate charges. Dawn then reminded us of some housekeeping details that we may take care of this year, regarding award application modifications that were suggested by last year's Committee.

Meeting Times

Meetings during the fall 2015 semester will be held at 8:00 AM on Thursdays. The next scheduled meeting will take place October 1, 2015.

Upcoming Deadlines

Sept 17 Student research proposals Nov 9 Student research proposals Dec 1 Faculty research proposals

Next Meeting

Given that last year's committee established an additional early fall deadline for student research applications, the Oct 1 meeting is intended to be a review of these early student applications. Sunil's office will distribute copies of the applications to UEC members for review prior to the meeting. Erin will look into retrieving the organizational document that the student research subcommittee used last year. As per the Committee's decision last year to not divide the UEC into review subcommittees, all committee members will participate in the review and deliberation of the student proposals. The volume of proposals submitted for this early deadline

will determine whether every committee member will read all proposals, or whether they will be divided and assigned to reviewers.

Subcommittees

Given that the UEC decided last year that a more equitable and workable distribution of application reviews could be accomplished by a committee of the whole, rather than dividing the UEC into subcommittees, no subcommittees were formed or assigned.

UEC Funds Available for AY2015-16

Sunil announced that our request for additional funding allocation from the BTF was approved. He shared with the committee the budgetary allotment for AY2015-16 for faculty research/travel and student research/travel along with projections for funding applications. He also shared that one of the difficulties encountered by faculty trying to utilize their fully allotted funds for travel (particularly for domestic conference travel) has been the restrictive sub-cap that ties together conference registration and per diem lodging/meal costs. He shared with the Committee the decision that a prudent course of allocation of the faculty travel portion of BTF approved additional funding would be to raise the per diem cap and the registration/lodging sub-cap. He indicated that his office will see how this plays out through this first year of the UEC's higher allotment and will make adjustments to the allotment pending availability of funds.

Change in Submission of Minutes

Sunil announced that beginning this year, minute takers will no longer be required to submit a signed hard copy of committee minutes. Following committee approval of the minutes, submission of electronic copy to the Associate Deans' Office is all that is required.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:20 PM

Respectfully submitted, Roger Allen, PhD, PT Professor Physical Therapy Program