University Enrichment Committee Meeting Minutes Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 8:00-8:57 AM Collins Memorial Library - Misner Room

Attendees: Sunil Kukreja, Terry Beck, Jess Smith, Dawn Padula, Aaron Pomerantz, Randy Worland, Maria Sampen (Faculty Senate liaison), Erin Colbert White, Sara Shapiro, Roger Allen

Secretary of the Day: Roger Allen

Election of Committee Chair

After the committee members introduced themselves, Faculty Senate liaison, Maria Sampen directed Committee to elect a chair. Dawn Padula volunteered to be considered to serve as chair. Her nomination was moved, seconded and passed by voice vote.

Minutes

Committee decided by consensus to rotate the taking of minutes among Committee members, proceeding alphabetically. The following is a rotation list of minute takers (excluding Committee chair, student member and Associate Dean):

Oct 7, 2014 - Terry Beck Nov 4, 2014 - Erin Colbert White Dec 2, 2014 - Sara Shapiro 2015 - Jess Smith, Randy Worland

Old Business

1) Last year's final report: Maria Sampen distributed copies of the 2013-2015 final UEC report with addenda to Budget Task Force.

2) Budget Task Force (BTF): Sunil Kukreja reported that the BTF did not approve additional funds for this year's UEC budget. He recommended we continue to make requests for additional funding and the earlier the better.

New Business

1) Senate Charges: Maria Sampen distributed, read and explained this year's Senate charges for the Committee. They are as follows:

1. Continue to pursue ways to showcase creative and scholarly work that is supported by UEC funding.

2. Continue to pursue the implementation of a Scholarship Award that directly parallels the existing Teaching Awards.

3. Investigate the feasibility and desirability of implementing three separate application deadlines for three separate funding periods.

4. Formalize and publicize rules for a streamlined application for summer student research support.

5. With respect to the work of the committee during 2014-2015, indicate in your end of year report whether the size of the committee was appropriate and identify

any committee work that seemed superfluous.

Regarding charge #2, recommended UEC reach out to Dean Bartanen to see what direction she wishes to take with this and determine a timeline. It was suggested that one junior and one senior faculty award be granted annually. Regarding charge #4, it was discussed that UEC coordinate with all on-campus student research award offerings to bring some coherence and lack of duplication to applications. It was noted that this charge has already been partially addressed by last year's UEC (see Item #7 in 2013-2014 final report). Charge #4 will be returned to Faculty Senate to clarify wording with specific reference to what is meant by "summer student research support."

2) Deadlines: The first faculty application deadline is December 1, 2014, and the first student application deadline is November 7, 2014. Subcommittees will be established at the next UEC meeting.

3) Meeting Time/Place: The meeting time for the fall 2014 semester was set at Tuesdays 8-9 AM. Meetings of the full Committee will be first Tuesday of each month. Venue will be Collins Memorial Library, Misner Room.

Adjournment

Padula adjourned the meeting at 8:57 AM

Respectfully submitted,

Roger Allen, PhD, PT Professor Physical Therapy Program Neuroscience Program