Minutes for the April 14, 2014 University of Puget Sound Faculty Meeting

- 1. President Ron Thomas called the meeting to order at 4:03 pm. A list of those attending (from a sign-in sheet circulated during the meeting) is given in Appendix 1.
- 2. M/S/P to approve the minutes of the March 25 2014 faculty meeting
- 3. Announcements: None
- 4. President's Report
  - President Ron Thomas thanked faculty for participating in Admitted Students
    Days, noting record-breaking attendance with the largest ever coming up Friday.
    He reported that enrollment is on a good pace so far with more applicants and
    admitted students than last year.
  - The President reported on some recent campaign contributions, notably the Neukom Family scholarship program for local students (making it our third largest endowed scholarship) and the Athletics and Aquatics Center.
  - The President also commented on potential federal policy issues, particularly concerns around proposals that seek to tie federal financial aid to college rating systems.
- 5. Academic Vice President's Report
  - Academic Vice President Kris Bartanen gave a reminder that the experiential
    workgroup documents are available on the Faculty Conversation Soundnet site.
    The group has done an audit of current opportunities and is thinking about the
    possibility of having opportunities for all students. It has explored gaps in that
    vision and discussed the importance of critical reflection in distinguishing
    experiences from experiential learning. Continued work includes thinking about
    how to help students graduate with distinctive compelling narratives and
    providing better communication about opportunities, perhaps through a landing
    page.
  - Dean Bartanen also reported on a conference she recently attended with Mike Segawa and noted that we already do many types of things that other institutions report as valuable, including interdisciplinary work, academic residential programming, and collaboration with a consortium.
- 6. Faculty Senate Chair report
  - Faculty Senate Chair Brad Dillman noted that the Senate is looking for colleagues to accept nominations for the Faculty Advancement Committee, the Faculty Senate Chair, Senate seats, and the Faculty Salary Committee with at least ten needed for the FAC slate election.
  - Dillman reported on the most recent Senate meeting that included discussion of the electronic voting process for faculty meeting motions. He noted that work remaining this year includes year-end reports, discussing of the faculty governance survey, selecting the Walter Lowrie distinguished service awardee, and discussing the enrollment work group report.
  - Dillman also noted that Board of Trustees Chair Rick Brooks will met with the FSC and Senate on Wednesday April 16 to discuss faculty compensation and the Board's compensation philosophy.

- 7. Motion to approve a new post-professional Doctor of Occupational Therapy degree
  - M/S/P (Beardsley/Swinth) to
    - (1) discontinue offering the MOT degree,
    - (2) discontinue offering the post-professional MSOT degree, and
    - (3) offer a new post-professional Doctor of OT (DrOT) degree.
  - Beardsley noted that the motion comes from the Curriculum Committee following the five-year curriculum review for Occupational Therapy. The DrOT proposal was reviewed by a CC working group and approved by the full committee.
  - Swinth distributed a handout providing background on the proposed changes and clarified that the proposal is to discontinue the entry-level MOT while keeping the entry-level MSOT. The proposed DrOT would replace the existed post-professional MSOT.
  - The motion passed unanimously.
- 8. M/S/P to adjourn at 4:23 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Martin Jackson, Faculty Secretary

## Appendix 1

**Attending** 

Roger Allen

Rich Anderson-Connolly

Bill Barry

Bill Beardsley

Lucretia Berg

**Bob Boyles** 

Nick Brody

**Douglas Cannon** 

Julie Christoph

Sue Doyle

Lisa Ferrari

Poppy Fry

Bill Haltom

Fred Hamel

Jennifer Hastings

Anne James

Lisa Johnson

Tatiana Kaminsky

Nick Kontogeorgopoulos

Kriszta Kotsis

Sunil Kukreja

**Martins Linauts** 

**Grace Livingston** 

Julia Looper

Gary McCall

Lindsay Morse

**Emelie Peine** 

**Brett Rogers** 

Amy Ryken

Sara Shapiro

Jonathan Stockdale

Yvonne Swinth

George Tomlin

Karin Townson

Ariela Tubert

Keith Ward

Carolyn Weisz

Kirsten Wilbur

Linda Williams

Paula Wilson

Ann Wilson

<u>Guests</u> Ellen Peters

Landon Wade