Minutes of Enrichment Committee Meeting

September 8, 2010

Present: Dawn Padula, Ben Tromly, Jennifer Utrata, Danny McMillian, Peter Greenfield, Brendan Lanctot, Sunil Kukreja, Jim Evans, Lisa Johnson (Senate Liaison)

Lisa Johnson convened the meeting. We proceeded to the election of chairs. Peter Greenfield was elected to chair the committee for the fall semester, and Jennifer Utrata for the spring semester.

Lisa presented to the committee the new charges from the Senate, which largely reflected the committee's own recommendations in its report to the Faculty Senate at the end of last year, dated April 26, 2010, written by last year's chair, Leslie Saucedo:

- 1. Reconsider the category caps in the conference travel reimbursement scheme, with an eye to increasing fairness across disciplines without impacting the total budget.
- 2. Draft a request to the Budget Task Force to increase support for conference travel.
- 3. Consider making it possible for applicants with pending sabbaticals, whose projects will require IRB approval) to apply for funding before IRB approval has been granted. IRB approval often cannot be obtained so early. Disbursement of funds would still be contingent on IRB approval.
- 4. Consider adjustments to student research and travel award criteria to "spread the wealth".
- 5. Standardize reimbursement for mailing and printing costs (similar to mileage reimbursement) for student research grants.

The committee decided to fix Wednesday at 1:00 p.m. as its normal meeting time. The next meeting of the full committee will be held Wednesday, October 6.

Discussion of the meaning and prioritization of the Senate charges ensued. In the course of the discussion, the new chair expressed the importance of focusing first on the request to the BTF, so that we could be sure of making a deadline. Sunil volunteered to investigate the deadline issue.

It was agreed to wait until next month to fix the membership of the subcommittees for faculty and student research proposals.

MSP to authorize allocation of UEC funds for the current year.

MSP to adjourn.

Faithfully submitted by Jim Evans