Esteemed Senators and Colleagues,

Please find below the Enrichment Committee's final report for the year 2001-02:

The Enrichment Committee consisted of:



Bill Dasher, Joel Elliott, Karl Fields (chair), John Finney (Ex-Officio), George Guilmet, Jennifer Hastings, Priti Joshi, Martins Linauts, Paul Loeb, Jeffrey Matthews, Janet Pollack, Marianne Taylor, Carolyn Weisz, and Roberta Wilson.

Members of the Travel Subcommittee were Bill Dasher, Joel Elliott, Karl Fields, Paul Loeb, Janet Pollack, Marianne Taylor, and John Finney.

Members of the Research Subcommittee were George Guilmet, Jennifer Hastings, Priti Joshi, Martins Linauts, Jeffrey Matthews, Carolyn Weisz, Roberta Wilson, and John Finney.

The Faculty Senate charged the committee in the fall of 2001 to discuss:

- 1. Increased funding of international travel
- 2. Funding of student research

Committee Actions:

1. Research and Travel Grants

This year the committee authorized the expenditure of funds for research and travel grants as usual. The committee determined in September to retain the guiding principles from the previous year of funding all approved first trips and research grants. For 2001-2002, \$75,000 was designated to the travel pool and \$9,000 reserved for research.

2. Increased funding of International Travel

After considering relevant data and discussing trade-offs, the committee determined to increase the maximum funding for international travel from \$1280 to \$1500, effective 2002-2003.

3. Funding of student research

Both the full committee and research subcommittee discussed the issue of effective allocation of student research funds. Despite concerns expressed to the committee that a majority of the \$500 student grants go to graduate students, research revealed that in fact 63 percent of funds go to undergraduates. Based on these findings, the committee concluded that graduate applications were not displacing undergraduate opportunities for funding and that all worthy applications—graduate and undergraduate—were being fairly considered. The committee determined to continue monitoring the distribution of research grants as before with ever a watchful eye towards inequity.

4. Funding of transcription costs for student research

After much discussion and fact gathering, the committee determined that transcription fees as part of student research awards would not be funded at a fixed rate. Rather, the committee pledged to act in a fair and equitable manner, assessing budgeted rates each year and analyzing what the student pool would support. In order to assure that students and their supporting faculty

clarify the "full cost" of these and all expenses, the committee amended the application form to clarify that the faculty member was approving the budget "as is."

4. The Regester Lectures

Geoff Proehl of the Communication and Theatre Arts Department delivered the 2001 Regester lecture on November 14th in Kilworth Chapel on "The Problem with Theatre and the Work of Rehearsal." Ily Nagy of the Art Department previously had been selected as the 2002 Regester Lecturer. The UEC selected Rob Beezer of the Mathematics and Computer Science Department to be the 2003 Regester Lecturer.

5. The Dirk Andrew Phibbs Memorial Award

The UEC awarded the Dirk Andrew Phibbs Memorial Award for 2001-2002 to Alexa Tullis of the Biology Department because of the ongoing high quality of her research on the physiological characteristics of a wide range of creatures, including cockroaches, white-spotted bamboo sharks, rattlesnakes, big skates, and cloudy cat sharks.

6. Released Time Units

The committee reviewed and ranked the released time proposals to be forwarded to Vice President Terry Cooney. Released time units were subsequently awarded to Rob Beezer, Arpad Kadarkay, Judith Kay, Jeffrey Mathews, and Mike Sugimoto.

Discussion of the following issue was deferred until the fall of 2002:

1. Student Research Day (aka "flea market of ideas").

Respectfully submitted, Karl Fields Chair, UEC