DATE: 5/11/2004 TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Jeffrey J. Matthews, Chair, UEC Committee

SUBJECT: University Enrichment Committee Annual Report (2003-2004).

Committee members: Lauren Hayslett (student member), Michael Casey, Bill Dasher, John Dickson, Joel Elliott (on leave Spring 2004), John Finney, Sunil Kukreja (on leave Spring 2004), Nicole Matsunaga (student member), Jeffrey Matthews, John McCuistion, Amy Ryken, Jeff Tepper, Derek Buescher, Doug Edwards, David Smith, Ted Taranovski.

The Faculty Senate charged the UEC Committee in the fall of 2003 to:

Continue the regular duties of the committee.

The major actions of the UEC committee included the following:

- 1. The committee reviewed proposals for <u>travel and research grants</u> (faculty and students) and dispersed funds according to the UEC guidelines.
- 2. The committee reviewed and ranked the <u>released time</u> proposals and forwarded its recommendations to Dean Cooney.
- 3. The committee presented Sigrun Bodine of the Math/Computer Science Department with the 2003-2004 <u>Dirk Andrew Phibbs Memorial Award</u> in recognition of her recent research and publication record.
- 4. The 2003 <u>Regester Lecture</u> was presented by Rob Beezer of the Math/Computer Science Department. Doug Edwards of the Religion Department is the 2004 Regester Lecturer. The UEC selected Mott Greene of the Honors Department as the 2005 Regester Lecturer.
- 5. The UEC revised the <u>eligibility requirements</u> for faculty research and conference participation grants. Full time Visiting Professors who are actively engaged in scholarly research and who have completed three years of service at UPS are now eligible to apply for these grants.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeffrey J. Matthews Chair, UEC Committee