University Enrichment Committee Minutes September 16, 2003

John Finney convened the meeting at 4:05 p.m. in the Misner Room of the Library.

Present were: Derek Buescher, Michael Casey, John Dickson, Joel Elliott, John Finney, Lauren Hayslett, Sunil Kukreja, Nicole Matsunaga, Jeff Matthews, John McCuistion, Amy Ryken, David Smith, Ted Taranovski.

1. Introductions

Committee members introduced themselves.

2. Elect Chair and Secretary

Jeff Matthews was elected Chair by a unanimous vote. Amy Ryken was elected Secretary by a unanimous vote.

3. Select Three Subcommittees

Committee members volunteered for Research Subcommittees. The Faculty Research Subcommittee includes: John Finney, Michael Casey, Bill Dasher, Jeff Matthews, John McCuistion, and Ted Taranovski. The Undergraduate Student Research Subcommittee includes: John Finney, Doug Edwards, Lauren Hayslett, Sunil Kukreja, Nicole Matsunaga, and David Smith. The Graduate Student research Subcommittee includes: John Dickson, Joel Elliott, Amy Ryken, and Jeff Tepper.

4. Set Meeting Times

The full committee will meet Tuesdays at 4:00 p.m. during Fall 2003. John Finney will set Fall meeting dates, based on subcommittee member teaching schedules, for the Research Subcommittees and notify subcommittee members.

5. Review 2003-2004 Agenda

In addition to the review of research proposals, the committee will need to: 1) reconsider the deadline for faculty research proposals to better fit with the change in the fiscal year, 2) select the 2005 Regester lecturer, 3) select the 2004 Dirk Andrew Phibbs Scholar, 4) make decisions regarding faculty release units.

6. Review 2003-2004 Funding Situation

John Finney reviewed the UEC faculty travel and research funding history:

Year	Travel Grants	Research Grants
2002-2003	\$68,000 allocated	\$15,000 allocated
(10-month fiscal year)	86 trips funded	22 research grants awarded
	(all 1 st requests funded,	
	plus 14 second trips funded)	
2001-2002	85 trips funded	
(faculty travel decreased after	\$67,000 spent	
September 11 th)		
2000-2001	95 trips funded	
	\$79,000 spent	

Each year the committee has been slowly drawing down carryover reserve funds. The committee allocated \$68,000 to faculty travel and \$15,000 to faculty research (motion: John Dickson, second: David Smith) for 2003-2004. John Dickson suggested that the UEC draft a statement of need for faculty research and travel to serve as a resource for the President's fundraising efforts.

7. Review Upcoming Regester Lecture Schedule for 2005 Selection

Rob Beezer will give this year's Regester Lecture on Wednesday, November 19, 2003 in the Norton Clapp Theater. To begin the selection for 2005, the UEC Chair will send out a call for nominations in late November. Nominated individuals have until February 1st to submit materials for consideration.

8. Other Items

John Dickson asked student members Nicole Matsunaga and Lauren Hayslett to think of ways to get the word out to students about Student Research funds. Nicole Matsunaga noted that the most critical factor for students following thorough with research proposal is a faculty advisor that supports the idea and is willing to work with the student as they are involved in the proposal writing process. Sunil Kukreja suggested that an email be sent each semester to Department Chairs that can be forwarded to department major and minors.

Amy Ryken suggested that Research Subcommittees consider having two readers per proposal rather than all committee members.

John Finney distributed the new guidelines for student research and travel awards.

The committee changed the deadline for Faculty Travel requests from July 1 to May 15 (motion Derek Buescher, second: John Dickson), in an effort to fit with the new fiscal year configuration. Thus, funding for second trip requests will now be available after May 15. The committee discussed changing the deadline for faculty research grant reporting from August 31 to June 30, but tabled this decision for a future meeting.

Jeff Matthews adjourned the meeting at 4:52 p.m. (motion: Joel Elliott, second: Sunil Kukreja).

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Ryken Secretary