University Enrichment Committee September 13, 2006 Minutes

Present: Bill Barry, Rob Beezer (Secretary), George Erving (Chair), John Finney, Travis Horton, Liz Hoffman, Lisa Johnson, Michael Johnson, Diane Kelley, Aislinn Melchior, Steven Neshyba, Mark Reinitz, Tanya Stambuk, Susan Stewart, Amy VanEngen Spivey, Randy Worland, Shane Wright, Jerry Yonkman. Visitor: Amy Ryken, Faculty Senate Liason.

Ryken, in her role as a representative of the Faculty Senate, brought the meeting to order promptly shortly after 3:00 PM. Individual introductions began the meeting.

ACTION Erving and Reinitz agreed to be nominated for the position of chair of the committee, with Erving serving in the fall and Reinitz in the spring. This arrangement was approved unanimously. Beezer volunteered to be Secretary for the entire year.

Erving assigned each member to one of the three subcommittees (Undergraduate Research, Graduate Research, Faculty Research). Possible meeting times were discussed, with Wednesday at 3:00 PM reserved for the full committeee meetings.

Ryken delivered the committee's charges from the Faculty Senate.

- (a) Selection of a Regester Lecturer for 2008, selection for the Dirk Andrew Phibbs Award, and the usual duties related to travel and research awards.
- (b) Request that the Budget Task Force increase support for student research.
- (c) Respond to a set of self-evaluation questions from the Faculty Senate.

Finney reviewed the funding situation for the upcoming year. Based on recent experience, the student research budget is unlikely to meet demand. Until there is an increase in this budget category, Finney suggested the following restrictions on these awards. These are motivated by the frequent (and desirable) situation where a single student receives funding for a project, and then also receives funding to present the results at a conference.

ACTION Student awards are limited to \$450. During the 2006-07 year, the committee may limit a student to only a research award or only a travel award. Moved: Finney. Seconded: Kelley. Passed: Unanimous.

Finney reported on the funding situation for faculty travel awards. Twenty-nine awards have been made over the summer, leaving 56% of original available funds. While this is a faster pace than usual for this time of year, it is not unprecedented, and does not necessarily mean demand will not be met. Finney will monitor the situation closely and keep the committee aware of options like suggesting there will be no second-trip funds available and/or moving money from the faculty research funds.

Finney reminded the committee about the upcoming Regester Lecture, which is sponsored by the committee. Professor Susan Owen, Thursday evening, November 9. Professor Wade Hands has been chosen as the 2007 Lecturer already.

Meeting adjourned at 3:54 PM.

Rob Beezer Secretary