University Enrichment Committee Faculty Senate Report April 11, 2007

2006-2007 UEC Membership:

Aislinn Melchior, Amy G VanEngen Spivey, Diane D Kelley; George S Erving, Jerry Yonkman, Liz P Hoffman, Travis Horton, John M Finney (ex-officio), Michael Johnson, Lisa Johnson, Mark T Reinitz, Rand Worland, Rob A Beezer, Steven Neshyba, Susan M Stewart, Suzanne Holland, Tanya Stambuk, Shane Wright, William D Barry

The senate charges to the 2006-2007 University Enrichment Committee were:

- 1. Selection of Register Lecturer for 2008, selection for the Dirk Andrew Phibbs Award, and the usual duties related to travel and research awards.
- 2. Request that the Budget Task Force increase funding for student research.
- 3. Respond to a set of self-evaluation questions from the Faculty Senate.

Committee actions regarding Senate charges

Selection of Register Lecturer for 2008

After reviewing the work of several outstanding nominees, the Committee concluded that David Tinsley's scholarly contributions and teaching excellence made him an exemplary representative of the University community. Tinsley was chosen as Register Lecturer.

Selection for the Dirk Andrew Phibbs Award

The committee reviewed faculty activities funded by UEC research grants, and on the basis of this review voted to name Judith Kay as the Phibbs Scholar.

Usual duties related to travel, research, and release time awards

<u>Travel Funding.</u> As of this writing, UEC funded 78 first-trip faculty travel requests, leaving a balance of -\$3192 in the faculty travel budget. The committee is committed to funding any additional qualified first-trip requests, though this will require transferring money from the faculty research budget. The anticipated large negative balance made it impossible to fund second trip requests this academic year.

Research Funding. The committee received six faculty research grant proposals. Five were funded, and one was sent back to the author with a request for additional information. Subcommittees reviewed research grant proposals by undergraduate and graduate students and rank-ordered the proposals for funding.

Release Time Requests. The committee received 16 applications for teaching release units. Five units are available for scholarly research, writing, or professional development and one unit is available for technology in teaching. The committee

formulated a rank-ordered list of the top applications and sent this to Dean Bartanen for her decision.

Request to BTF to increase funding for student research.

George Erving presented a proposal directed to the budget task force asking for an \$11,500 increase in funds for student research projects, which was unanimously approved as written and sent to the BTF. A copy of this request is attached. The BTF did approve some new monies, the exact amount to be determined by the dean.

Response to self-evaluation request

The committee devoted a meeting to self evaluation, and a summary of the committee's responses was communicated to the Chair of Faculty Senate. In general the committee felt that they had ample opportunity to discharge its obligations and had remained true to its charge and purpose.

Respectfully submitted,

Mark Reinitz UEC Chair