DATE: SEPTEMBER 14, 2009 TIME: 3:30-4:30 p.m. PLACE: TRIMBLE HALL

In attendance: Brendan Lanctot, Jennifer Utrata, Renee Houston, Leslie Saucedo, Jim Evans, Cathy Hale, Jim Jasinski, Matt Warning, Heidi Orloff, John Rindo, Sarah Moore (ex officio)

The meeting was convened by a representative of the Faculty Senate, Stacey Weiss. The first order of business was the election of a Chair. Renee Houston will serve as Chair in the Fall and Leslie Saucedo will serve as Chair in the Spring.

Sarah Moore then gave a broad outline of the responsibilities of the Committee, followed by a preview of the business for the year. In addition to any charges that might come from the Faculty Senate, the committee will make faculty and student research awards in the fall. In the spring, the faculty will again make faculty and student research awards as well as selection decisions for the Phibbs Scholar, the Regester lecturer, release time applications, and Trimble Professional Development applications.

Sarah Moore announced that there were several changes made to the University Resources for Professional Development document as well as the accompanying forms and website. These changes were made during the summer and were largely undertaken due to external needs. Namely, it came to the attention of Moore that not all UEC-funded work was necessarily securing timely IRB approval. In addition, the UEC had funded some faculty and student research projects that involved travel to countries that had travel warnings; this is out of compliance with the university's travel policy. To address these two problems, Moore, working with John Hickey, Lisa Ferrari, Jannie Meisberger, and the university's legal representatives revised a number of the UEC-related documents so that faculty and students whose research involves human participants will be required to submit IRB approval (either from the full board or the departmental designate, as appropriate) upon submission of their applications to the committee.

Regarding foreign travel, student forms now clarify that the university will not fund projects that involve travel to countries with either a Department of State (DOS) travel warning or a CDC health travel warning. Faculty, by contrast, will be able to have their work funded even if they plan to travel to countries with such warnings; however, they will be asked to sign a special waiver that acknowledges this risk and releases the university from liability. Also related to the issue of foreign travel, all faculty and students will be asked to sign a basic waiver whenever they plan to travel abroad even when it does not include travel to countries with either a DOS or CDC warning.

Given the scope of these changes, including those implemented by the UEC last year, Moore recommended that the committee not undertake any additional revisions. Orloff commented that the committee should make corrections or revisions as related to these changes should they need clarifying. This sentiment was endorsed by the committee.

The Chair of UEC will circulate a letter to all faculty to notify everyone about the changes.

Sarah Moore then gave the budget figures for the year and requested Enrichment Committee approval to transfer money to appropriate accounts. The committee approved the transfer and authorized Sarah Moore to administer the faculty travel funds.

There is \$159,000 to be split in the following manner: \$93,000 faculty travel, \$16,000 faculty research, \$27,500 student research (including both student travel and student research), \$3,250 dean enrichment, and \$20,000 summer research in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. In addition, Moore stated that slightly more than \$9,600 from unspent departmental travel funds would augment faculty travel, \$5,000 from the Phibbs Memorial fund would augment faculty research, and roughly \$2,300 from ASUPS would augment student research.

Jim Evans asked about the historical context of the proportion of the allocations between faculty research and student research. Sarah Moore provided some details.

The next item of business was to assign faculty to subcommittees. The assignments are:

Graduate Student Research John Rindo Cathy Hale Matt Warning Heidi Orloff

<u>Undergraduate Research</u> Jim Evans Jim Jasinski Tamiko Nimura Peter Greenfield

Faculty Research Renee Houston Leslie Saucedo Jennifer Utrata Brandon Lanctot

The deadlines for research grants were announced. They are: Faculty Research: Dec. 1, 2009 Student Research: Nov. 10, 2009

Subcommittees will convene after these dates at a time called by the subcommittee chair.

The Chair of the Enrichment Committee is to appoint subcommittee chairs soon.

The next meeting will be called by the Chair.

Respectfully Submitted

John Rindo, Secretary for the Sept. 14, 2009 meeting.