University Enrichment Committee

Minutes April 19, 2010

Present: Leslie Saucedo (chair), James Evan, Peter Greenfield, Brendan Lanctot, Heidi Orloff, John Rindo, Jennifer Utrata, Matt Warning.

Saucedo called the meeting to order at 3:36pm.

1. M/S/P to approve the minutes of the meeting of February 1, 2010, as distributed.

2. Announcements

Or loff reminded members of the subcommittees on student research to review the applications assigned to them and send her their ratings: 3 (high) to 1 (low), in preparation for next Monday's (4/26) meeting.

Saucedo announced that this would be the last meeting of the year for the full committee, and asked for guidance on what charges we should recommend to the Faculty Senate for next year's committee. The obvious one is to continue the committee's study of faculty conference travel grants, and particularly the cap on registration and per diem costs. Next year's committee should make a proposal to the faculty on this issue.

Orloff suggested that the committee discuss establishing standards for what costs student research grants will cover, as well as standard amounts for costs such as mailing, mileage and paying subjects (on which student requests have varied widely).

3. Regester Lectureship: M/S/P to designate Nancy Bristow as the Regester Lecturer for 2011-12.

The committee noted that there was an unusually high number of exceptional candidates in this year's nominees, and urged colleagues to nominate again those not chosen this year.

4. Dirk Andrew Phibbs Memorial Award for faculty international research: M/S/P to give the Phibbs award to Leon Grunberg and David Smith.

The committee concluded its business for 2009-10 by thanking Saucedo for her work as chair during spring semester.

Meeting adjourned at 4:20pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter Greenfield