Library, Media, and Information Systems (LMIS) Committee

Minutes of the Meeting on December 17, 2009

Members present: Mark Cain, Mark Reinitz, Alyce DeMarais, Joe Granville, Jane Carlin, Jeff Tepper, Jennifer Neighbors, Bob Boyles; Visitors: Dan Burgard, Cindy Riche

The meeting was called to order at 9:05 AM.

Jane Carlin and Alyce DeMarais provided an update on their meeting with the Curriculum Committee to share initiatives the Library has been developing to increase students' information literacy skills. The Curriculum Committee will review and discuss the initiatives in the spring. Initiatives will most likely be integrated into, at minimum, first year seminars. There may be a workshop in the spring to solicit broader faculty feedback on the initiatives.

Mark Cain provided an update on the CTO search, for which William Morse has been hired. Mark will stay at Puget Sound until the end of January, when William will take over. While there will be no transition period, Mark has been having weekly conversations with William to provide him with the information and background he needs before he comes aboard. Regarding the technology help desk, Mark also noted that UPS is ending its relationship with Tech Help and as of January 4, 2010, the help desk will be back on campus.

Cindy Riche provided updates on new staffing in Educational Technology. Moodle training sessions have been arranged for January and February and the Moodle theme is being updated to match the new campus website. Cindy's staff is also working on ways to help faculty develop their own websites more easily.

M/S/P Approval of a change to the LMIS bylaws whereby "Associate Vice President for Information Systems" becomes "Chief Technology Officer." Dan Burgard will take this motion to the Faculty Senate.

M/S/P Approval of addition of the Director of Educational Technology to the formal LMIS committee membership. The motion will next go to the Faculty Senate.

The spring LMIS schedule was set, with meetings on alternate Thursdays at 11 AM, beginning on January 21, 2010.

The following subcommittees were formed for spring term:

- Print Management: Bob Boyles, Jane Carlin, Jeff Tepper, Mark Reinitz, Alyce DeMarais, and Joe Granville
- Copyright Policy: Jennifer Neighbors, Alyce DeMarais, Cindy Riche

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Neighbors.