Faculty Senate Meeting Monday, November 26, 2018 Minutes

Present: Nick Brody, Andrew Monaco, Gwynne Brown, Heather White, Alison Tracy Hale, Kristin Johnson, Sara Freeman, Chris Kendall, Uchenna Baker, Kristine Bartanen, Andrew Gardner, Heather Bailey, Robin Jacobson, Megan Gessel

- I. Chair Freeman called the meeting to order at 12:02pm.
- II. Announcements
 - A. Next week will be the Faculty Senate's last meeting for the semester.
- III. **M/S/P** approval of minutes from November 12 meeting.
- IV. Updates from ASUPS or Staff Senate
 - A. Bailey reported that the Staff Senate will hold its annual fundraiser on Thursday and Friday, 10am–3pm both days. Donations of crafts and baked goods are welcome.
- V. Reports from Standing Committees
 - A. Kendall reported that the Curriculum Committee ("CC") has an extremely heavy workload this year, even by CC standards, but that they are making good progress.
 - B. Freeman reported that (although not technically a standing committee) the SET Task Force will meet on December 3, with Brody in attendance, to receive end-of-semester update report.
- VI. Formation of the Curriculum Task Force ("CTF"), based on election results
 - A. Johnson distributed results from the faculty vote (vote totals available on the Google docs Curriculum Task Force site) held November 19–26 and reminded senators that the Faculty Senate previously determined that the three highest vote recipients would be automatically added to the CTF. This would mean Alisa Kessel, Doug Sackman, and Erin Colbert-White would be added to the CTF, leaving six spots to ensure balance.
 - B. Freeman reminded the Faculty Senate that in prior discussions there seemed to be agreement that voting rank would be a starting point for appointment to the CTF, with deviations made to ensure representation across faculty ranks, personal identities, areas of the Core, and the graduate and undergraduate schools.
 - C. Discussion focused on ensuring additional members of the CTF struck a balance across these representational needs while honoring the faculty vote. It was also noted that certain faculty might offer the CTF insights into curriculum

development based on work developing interdisciplinary programs, working with experiential learning, or launching innovations such as FEPPS. Given the limited size of the CTF, it might also make sense for some nominees not appointed to the CTF to serve instead as point-people between the CTF and the wider campus community.

- D. **M/S/P** to appoint seven members to the CTF: Alisa Kessel, Doug Sackman, Erin Colbert-White, David Chiu, Jung Kim, Diane Kelly, and Darcy Irvin. During discussion it was noted that this would appoint the top six vote-getters while satisfying most representational needs.
- E. Further discussion explored the possibility of increasing representation on the CTF from departments involved in the sciences, interdisciplinary programs, experiential learning, programs with high enrollment, or departments that might be otherwise isolated from curricular development. M/S/P to appoint Dexter Gordon to the CTF. M/S/P to appoint Dan Sherman to the CTF.
- VII. Discussion of Draft Statement on Academic Freedom and Free Speech
 - A. **M/S/P** the Faculty Senate endorse the Statement on Academic Freedom and Free Speech and its publication on the university website
 - B. Discussion focused on clarification that the Statement does not change policy, but is meant only for use on the web.

M/S/P to adjourn meeting at 1:29pm

Respectfully submitted,

Chris Kendall