Upcoming School of Music Events

Friday, January 18

Conductors Institute

Day: January 18 Time: All Day Location: Music Building

Gerard Morris, conductor; Craig Kirchhoff, guest clinician; Robert Taylor, guest clinician

The Puget Sound Conductors Institute will take place January 18-21, 2019. This year’s event features guest clinicians Craig Kirchhoff, University of Minnesota Director of Bands Emeritus, and Rob Taylor, University of British Columbia Director of Bands.

Read More
Friday, January 25
Tickets Required

Jacobsen Series: Puget Sound Piano Trio

Day: January 25 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

The Puget Sound Piano Trio is the ensemble-in-residence at the University of Puget Sound School of Music.  This season inaugurates the Puget Sound Piano Trio Concert Series, an expanded offering of three performance events for the Trio's home audience.  These programs will explore a complete cycle of the Brahms piano trios, as well as chosen pairings of classical, romantic…

Read More
Sunday, January 27

28th Annual Bethel Schneebeck Organ Recital

Day: January 27 Time: 2 p.m.–4 p.m. Location: Kilworth Memorial Chapel

Join us for the 28th Annual Organ Recital, as Wyatt Smith performs works by Bach, Reger, Saint-Saëns, Dubois, and more. Reception to follow the performance.

Read More
Friday, February 1
Tickets Required

Jacobsen Series: African-American Composers

Day: February 1 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Honoring black artists’ contributions to music featuring chamber music by 20th- and 21st-century composers.

Maria Sampen, violin; Anna Wittstruck, cello; Gwynne Brown, piano; Brenda Miller ’15, piano; Tim Christi, violin/viola; with Albert R. Lee, guest tenor.

Get tickets

Read More
Thursday, February 7
Friday, February 8
Thursday, February 14

Jazz Orchestra

Day: February 14 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Tracy Knoop, director

Read More
Friday, February 22
Wednesday, February 27
Friday, March 8

Organ at Noon: "All-Bach Recital"

Day: March 8 Time: 12:05 p.m.–1 p.m. Location: Kilworth Memorial Chapel

Join us for the third installment of the Organ at Noon Series, as Wyatt Smith performs an "All-Bach Recital."

Read More
Thursday, March 14

Wind Ensemble

Day: March 14 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Gerard Morris, conductor

Read More
Monday, March 25
Wednesday, March 27
Friday, March 29
Saturday, March 30
Friday, April 5
Friday, April 12
Tickets Required

Jacobsen Series: "Women in Music"

Day: April 12 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Recognizing female composers from all eras and varying styles, with compositions for voice, piano, and strings.

Dawn Padula, mezzo-soprano; Tanya Stambuk, piano; Maria Sampen, violin; Gwynne Brown, narration; and guests

Get tickets

Read More
Wednesday, April 17

Noon Recital Series

Day: April 17 Time: 12 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

A variety of short performances by Puget Sound students.

Read More
Thursday, April 18
Friday, April 26
Saturday, April 27
Monday, April 29

Chamber Music Concert I

Day: April 29 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Hear student groups from across the School of Music, performing Beethoven, Milhaud, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Rimsky-Korsakov, Ligeti, and more! Directed by Alistair MacRae. Free admission.

Read More
Tuesday, April 30

Chamber Music Concert II

Day: April 30 Time: 7:30 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Hear student groups from across the School of Music, performing Beethoven, Milhaud, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Rimsky-Korsakov, Ligeti, and more! Directed by Alistair MacRae. Free admission.

Read More
Wednesday, May 1
Friday, May 3
Saturday, May 4

Flute Day

Day: May 4 Time: All Day Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

Student flute recitals

Read More
Monday, May 6

Clarinet Ensemble

Day: May 6 Time: 6:30 p.m. Location: Wheelock Student Center, Rasmussen Rotunda

Jennifer Nelson, ensemble director

Read More
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8

Noon Recital Series

Day: May 8 Time: 12 p.m. Location: Schneebeck Concert Hall

A variety of short performances by Puget Sound students

Read More