Conversations with Germany: "LQGBTQI+ in Germany"

Conversations with Germany Join us during fall semester for a series of four conversations with German students, activists and professionals who will share their perspectives on life, culture and politics in contemporary Germany. Our speakers will provide 20 minutes of introductory remarks and then open the floor for discussion.

Tuesday, October 20: LQGBTQI+ in Germany: a short historical overview and an intersectional view on challenges of queer culture in today's Germany.

Time: 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST; noon CST; 7 p.m. Germany)

RSVP: https://conversationsrainbowfriendly.eventbrite.com

During this Conversation with Germany, Lina Ismail and Ramazan Demirlek will outline the history of LQGBTQI+ in Germany as they also talk about the challenges facing their communities.

Lina Ismail, 24, BA and MA German as a Foreign Language (LMU), Masters Certificate Program: Intercultural Communication Certificate Program (LMU), intercultural communication and ethics teacher, pedagogical project coordinator with Queer*Yourope

Ramazan Demirlek, 32, BA-student of Middle Eastern Studies (LMU), educational staff at a youth-centre, anti-discrimination-trainer for students and teachers, pedagogical project coordinator with Queer*Yourope

Registration is required in order to receive the Zoom Meeting ID. We ask you to register for one or all of the Conversations.

Organized by the Lewis and Clark Year of Study in Munich, German Studies at Lewis & Clark, German Studies at Whitman College, German Studies at the University of Puget Sound, and the Department of German at Northwestern. For more information, please contact Prof. Kris Imbrigotta, Department of German Studies. All are welcome to attend, conversation and presentation in English.


Driving Directions Campus Map

Accessibility Information

Email: accessibility@pugetsound.edu
Online: pugetsound.edu/accessibility