University of Puget Sound’s Archives & Special Collections is proud to announce an exhibit showcasing the history of Puget Sound University and its connection to University Place.
From 1893–1903, the university undertook planning for the development of 1,200 acres on the Tacoma Narrows to create a permanent campus. The landscape architect for the project, Edward Otto Schwagerl (1842-1910), described the property in 1895:
“The grounds command a fine view of Puget Sound and its islands, with the Coast ranges and Olympic mountains in the background. The scenery, together with the fishing, bathing and boating would make such a location a very successful summer resort.”
Although the proposed campus was never completed, extensive plans and drawings exist for a beautiful property in French Gothic style. The exhibit includes advertising brochures, drawings, reports from administrators and students, and a recounting of the project from former Puget Sound President and Trustee Edward H. Todd. Enjoy the rich history of University of Puget Sound and learn more about its connection to University Place.
The ‘University’ in University Place was curated by Monica Patterson ’18 and Morgan Ford ’17, under the direction of Archivist & Special Collections Librarian, Katie Henningsen. All are welcome.
WHERE: Second floor of Collins Memorial Library, outside the Archives & Special Collections room
WHEN: June 5–December 18, 2015
LIBRARY SUMMER HOURS: Weekdays 7:30 a.m.–5 p.m. (9 p.m. Mon & Thurs.); Sat: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.; Sun: Closed
For more information contact Katie Henningsen, archivist and special collections librarian: email@example.com Tel. 253.879.2669
To read about the early history of University Place in a recent article in Arches alumni magazine, by John Finney ’67, turn to page 12 at: https://www.pugetsound.edu/files/pages/arches/arches_spring_2015/#14
For more about Archives & Special Collections visit: https://www.pugetsound.edu/academics/academic-resources/collins-memorial-library/archives/