2001

February 2001

  • Friday, February 16, 5:30 p.m. Reception for Josiah Ober and Adrienne Mayor. Professor Ober's visit to the university is being sponsored by the Catharine Gould Chism Lecure Series, this year presented by the Classics Department. Dr. Mayor's visit is sponsored by the Science in Context Program. Professor Ober will lecture on Thursday, February 15, 4 p.m. "Socrates as a Social Critic and as a Citizen" in Wyatt 109. Professor Mayor will lecture on "The Monster of Troy: Fossil Discoveries in Ancient Greece" on Friday, February 16 at 3 p.m. in Wyatt 109. All are welcome for drinks and hors d'oeuvres but please RSVP by Tuesday February 13 to Mott Greene, or Eric Orlin (as the Chism fund is a co-sponsor of this event), so we can plan appropriate amounts of food and drink.
  • Wednesday, February 21, 4 p.m. The Prelude Committee will host an information session about the upcoming Prelude at the Faculty Club. Please contact Carrie Washburn for more details.
  • Friday, February 23, 4 - 8 p.m.  First Annual President's Week ("You guys are on mid-winter break, right?") Party. We need volunteers to help set up (3-4) and clean up (7-8). Contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley to volunteer.

March 2001

  • Friday, March 9, 4 - 8 p.m. TGIF. We need volunteers to help set up (3-4) and clean up (7-8). Contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley to volunteer.
  • Friday, March 23, 4 - 8 p.m. TGIF. We need volunteers to help set up (3-4) and clean up (7-8). Contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley to volunteer.
  • Friday, March 30, 5:30 p.m. Reception for Erich Gruen. Professor Gruen's visit to the university is being sponsored by the Catharine Gould Chism Lecure Series, this year presented by the Classics Department. Professor Gruen will lecture on Thursday March 29 at 4 p.m. in Wyatt 109 on: "Pagans and Jews: The Roots of Anti-Semitism." All are welcome for drinks and hors d'oeuvres, but please RSVP by Tuesday March 27 to Mott Greene,or Eric Orlin (as the Chism fund is a co-sponsor of this event), so we can plan appropriate amounts of food and drink.

April 2001

  • Friday, April 6, 4 - 8 p.m. TGIF. We need volunteers to help set up (3-4) and clean up (7-8). Contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley to volunteer.
  • Friday, April 13, 5:30 p.m. Reception for Maud Gleason. Professor Gleason's visit to the university is being sponsored by the Catharine Gould Chism Lecure Series, this year presented by the Classics Department. Professor Gleason will lecture on Thursday, April 12 at 4 p.m. in Wyatt 109 on:"The Trials of Being Herod's Son: Life and its Literary Antecedents." All are welcome for drinks and hors d'oeuvres, but please RSVP by Tuesday, April 10 to Mott Greene or Eric Orlin (as the Chism fund is a co-sponsor of this event), so we can plan appropriate amounts of food and drink.
  • Friday, April 20, 5:30 p.m. Reception for Shadi Bartsch. Professor Bartsch's visit to the university is being sponsored by the Catharine Gould Chism Lecure Series, this year presented by the Classics Department. Professor Bartsch will lecture on Thursday, April 19 at 4 p.m. in Wyatt 109 on:"The Eye, the Phallus, and the Philosopher: Paradigms of Vision in the Early Roman Empire." All are welcome for drinks and hors d'oeuvres, but please RSVP by Tuesday, April 17 to Mott Greene or Eric Orlin (as the Chism fund is a co-sponsor of this event), so we can plan appropriate amounts of food and drink.
  • Friday, April 20, 4 p.m. The Third Annual "It's all down hill from here" Party!. Please contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley for more details or to volunteer for setup or cleanup.
  • Friday, April 27, 5:30 p.m. Reception for Sarah Iles Johnston. Professor Johnston's visit to the university is being sponsored by the Catharine Gould Chism Lecure Series, this year presented by the Classics Department. Professor Johnston will lecture on Thursday, April 26 at 4 p.m. in Wyatt 109 on: "The Importance of Being Mythic." All are welcome for drinks and hors d'oeuvres, but please RSVP by Tuesday, April 24 to Mott Greene or Eric Orlin (as the Chism fund is a co-sponsor of this event), so we can plan appropriate amounts of food and drink.

May 2001

  • Wednesday, May 2, 4 p.m. Annual Last Day of Classes Party. We need volunteers to help set up (3-4) and clean up. Please contact Fred Slee, Jane Marie Pinzino, Mott Greene or Bill Beardsley to volunteer.
  • Friday, May 4, 4 - 6 p.m. Reception for Ken Stevens. Please contact Betty Ragan for more details
  • Wednesday, May 9, 11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. Humanities Program meeting. Please contact Robert Garratt for more details.
  • Saturday, May 13, 9:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Department of Comparative Sociology Senior Celebration. Contact George Guilmet for more details.

June - August 2001

  • Faculty Club closed for remodeling

 

September 2001

  • Friday, September 7, 4 - 8 p.m. THE FIFTH ANNUAL START UP PARTY. There will be a BBQ and lot's to eat and drink. Come meet our new colleagues and kick off the year in style! Those wishing to help with set up and cooking should contact Bill Beardsley.
  • Tuesday, September 25, 4:30 - 6:30 p.m. Dolliver Humanities Reception. Please contact Rob Garratt for more details.
  • Friday, September 28, 4 - 8 p.m. TGIF. Please contact Bill Beardsley for more details.

October 2001

  • Tuesday, October 9, 4 - 6 p.m. Book Party for John Lear whose latest book Workers, Neighbors and Citizens:  The Revolution in Mexico City has been published by the University of Nebraska Press, and for Wade Hands, whose latest book Reflections Without Rules was published this summer. Please contact Kate Stirling for more details.
  • Friday, October 19, 4 - 8 p.m. TGIF. Please contact Bill Beardsley for more details.
  • Friday October 26, 5:30 - 8 p.m. Honors Alumni Dinner, a part of the Honors Reunion and Homecoming. For details contact Mott Greene.

November 2001

  • Wednesday, November 7, 5 - 8 p.m. Humanities Faculty meeting. Please contact Rob Garratt for more details.
  • Thursday, November 8, 4 - 6 p.m. Faculty reception after Deborah Stott's lecture for Humanities/Classics. Please contact Rob Garratt for more details.
  • Friday, November 9, 4 - 8 p.m. 5th Annual "Is that light there at the end of this tunnel?" Party Expect seasonal goodies (roast turkey, baked ham, pies), fine beverages and good companionship. Please contact Bill Beardsley for more details.
  • Tuesday, November 27, 4 - 6 p.m. Women Studies reception for new faculty. Please contact Michele Birnbaum for more details.

December 2001

  • Thursday, December 6 
    • Noon - 1:30 p.m. Humanities Faculty Meeting. Please contact Rob Garratt for more details.
    • 4 - 8 p.m. Holiday-end of term party. Please contact Bill Beardsley for more details.