Faculty

Rob Beezer
Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Professor Beezer received his BS from University of Santa Clara and MS and PhD from University of Illinois. He teaches calculus, algebra (linear and abstract), combinatorics and cryptography. His research interests are primarily in graph theory (especially regular graphs and algebraic graph theory), but is also interested in combinatorics as a whole. Professor Beezer has been teaching at Puget Sound since 1984.

beezer@pugetsound.edu

Website

James Bernhard

James Bernhard
Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, Harvard University

Professor Bernhard received his BA degree from Princeton University and a PhD degree from Harvard University.

jbernhard@pugetsound.edu

Website

Sigrun Bodine
Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Southern California

Professor Bodine received BS degrees in Mathematics and Physics from the University of Ulm, Germany. She earned a MA degree in Mathematics from San Diego State University, a Diplom (MS) in Physics from the University of Ulm, and a PhD in Mathematics from the University of Southern California.  She teaches calculus, linear algebra, and upper-division courses in analysis. Her research interests include differential and difference equations as well as in time scales. She has been at Puget Sound since 1998.

sbodine@pugetsound.edu

Website

Martin Jackson
Associate Dean and Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Oregon

Professor Jackson received a BS degree from the University of Puget Sound in 1984, and his MS and PhD degrees from the University of Oregon in 1985 and 1990, respectively. His area of research is differential geometry. Professor Jackson has been teaching at Puget Sound since 1990.

martinj@pugetsound.edu

Website

Brad Richards
Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Professor Richards holds BA degrees in Physics and Computer Science, an MSc in Computer Science, and earned his PhD in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin — Madison, where his research was on custom memory-system support for distributed shared-memory parallel computers. In addition to his continuing work on parallel and distributed computing, Dr. Richards is active in Computer Science education, having authored numerous papers on pedagogy and curricular issues. He has been teaching at Puget Sound since 2005.

brichards@pugetsound.edu

Website

Mike Spivey (Chair)
Professor and Chair, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, Princeton University

Professor Spivey earned a BS from Samford University, an MS from Texas A&M University, and an MA and a PhD from Princeton University. He works in operations research and combinatorics. Professor Spivey has been teaching at Puget Sound since 2005.

mspivey@pugetsound.edu

Website

David Chiu
Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, The Ohio State University

David received a PhD in Computer Science and Engineering from the Ohio State University. David teaches courses in introductory CS, database systems, high-performance computing, operating systems, and the capstone in computer science. His research interests include issues in cloud computing and large-scale data management. David has been with Puget Sound since Fall 2014.

dchiu@pugetsound.edu

Website

Carl Toews
Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Virginia

Carl received his BS from Claremont McKenna College and MS and PhD from the University of Virginia. His doctoral work was in pure operator theory, but he has worked in aerospace and in image processing, where he developed a taste for applied mathematics. His current research includes applications of optimal control to problems from ecology. He is also interested in inquiry-centric teaching methods. Carl has been at Puget Sound since 2011.

ctoews@pugetsound.edu

Website

 America Chambers

America Chambers
Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of California, Irvine

Professor Chambers earned her BA in Mathematics and Computer Science from Swarthmore College and her Masters and PhD in Computer Science from the University of California, Irvine. Her research interests include machine learning, natural language processing, and statistical models of text. She has been with Puget Sound since 2015.

alchambers@pugetsound.edu

Website

Adam Smith
Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Professor Smith is from Portland, Oregon. He earned his BA in 1999 from Lewis and Clark College, and his PhD in 2009 from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. He teaches courses in artificial intelligence, algorithms, and bioinformatics. His research interests are in modeling biologically-significant time series, from gene expression profiles to mouse ultrasonic vocalizations. He has been with Puget Sound since 2013.

aasmith@pugetsound.edu

Website

Courtney Thatcher

Courtney Thatcher
Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Chicago

Professor Thatcher received her BA from Boston University and MS and PhD from the University of Chicago. Her research interests are primarily in algebraic and geometric topology, computational topology, and large data set analysis. She has been with Puget Sound since 2014.

cthatcher@pugetsound.edu

 Cynthia Gibson

Cynthia Gibson
Visiting Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Oregon

Professor Gibson received her BS with a double major in Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Puget Sound in 1989. She received her MS and PhD degrees in Mathematics from the University of Oregon in 1991 and 1995, respectively. She started teaching at Puget Sound in 1996.‚Äč

cgibson@pugetsound.edu

 

 Tony Mullen

Tony Mullen
Visiting Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Professor Mullen holds a BA in English Literature from the University of Washington, an MPhil in Linguistics from Trinity College, Dublin, and a PhD from the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at the University of Groningen. His interests include natural language processing, computer-aided language learning, computer graphics, and web development. He has been with Puget Sound since 2015. 

tmullen@pugetsound.edu

Website 

 Justin Sukiennik

Justin Sukiennik
Visiting Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, University of Rochester

Professor Sukiennik earned his BA from Colby College and MS and PhD from University of Rochester. His research interests include number theory (particularly, Diophantine geometry and arithmetic dynamical systems) and math education. He started teaching at Puget Sound in 2015.

jsukiennik@pugetsound.edu

 

Wendy Dove
Instructor, Mathematics and Computer Science

Wendy received her BS and MAT from the University of Puget Sound. She has taught introductory mathematics and statistics for over 15 years. In addition, she has worked in institutional research, in actuarial science, in benefits consulting, and as a computer programmer. She has been at Puget Sound since 2013.

wdove@pugetsound.edu

Website

Alison Paradise
Instructor, Mathematics and Computer Science

Alison earned her BS in Mathematics and Economics (with minors in Computer Science and French) from Puget Sound in 1982, and her MS in Mathematics from Washington State University in 1988. She has been teaching introductory mathematics and statistics courses (and some introductory Computer Science) for about 30 years.

paradise@pugetsound.edu

Website

Matthew Pickard
Instructor, Mathematics and Computer Science

BEd, University of Hawaii, 1980

MEd, University of Puget Sound, 1992

pickard@pugetsound.edu

Website

Brian Rushton

Brian Rushton
Visiting Instructor, Mathematics and Computer Science
PhD, Brigham Young University

Brian received his BS, MS, and PhD in Mathematics from Brigham Young University. He has been teaching math and statistics courses since he was an undergraduate in 2006. His research interests include fractals and regular languages.

brushton@pugetsound.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Rosemary Hirschfelder
Professor Emeritus

 

Chuck Hommel
Professor Emeritus

hommel@pugetsound.edu

Website

Jerry Kerrick
Professor Emeritus

jjkerrick@gmail.com

Bruce Lind
Professor Emeritus

lind@pugetsound.edu

Bob Matthews
Professor Emeritus

matthews@pugetsound.edu

Website

 

John Riegsecker
Professor Emeritus

 

David Scott
Professor Emeritus

Bryan Smith
Professor Emeritus

bryans@pugetsound.edu

Website

Ron Van Enkevort
Professor Emeritus

In Memoriam

John Lantz

Taught 1946 - 1987, died in 2006

Ed Goman

Taught 1947 - 1984, died in 1987

Carol Smith

Taught 1983 - 2003, died in 2012