Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Professor

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979

MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Honors, Humanities, and English; Susan Resneck Pierce Professor of Humanities and Honors; Director, Honors Program

BA, Stanford University, 1977

MBA, University of Oregon, 1980

MA, St. John's College, 1995

MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

Committee

Greta Austin

ggaustin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies

BA, Princeton University, 1990
MA, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1992
MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1996, 2000

Gwynne K. Brown

gkbrown@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Music
(On leave Spring 2021)

BM, University of Puget Sound, 1995
MM, Indiana University, 1997
PhD, University of Washington, 2006

Derek Buescher

dbuescher@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Communication Studies and Director of Forensics

BA, Whitman College, 1992
MA, University of California-Davis, 1995
PhD, University of Utah, 2003

Andrew Gomez

andrewgomez@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On leave Fall 2020)

BS, BA, Florida International University, 2008, 2010
MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 2012, 2015

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

Kriszta Kotsis

kkotsis@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History and Co-director, Interdisciplinary Humanities

MA, Loránd Eötvös University, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2004

Grace Livingston

glivingston@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies Program

BA, Jamaica Theological Seminary, 1984
MS, PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1991, 2003

Jess K Smith

jksmith@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Theatre Arts
(On leave Fall 2020)

BA, University of Puget Sound, 2005
MFA, Columbia University, 2011

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History, and Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities

BA, Vassar College, 1998
MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Justin Tiehen

jtiehen@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Philosophy
(On leave 2020-21)

BA, University of Chicago, 2000
PhD, University of Texas-Austin, 2007