Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Professor

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Honors, Humanities, and English; Susan Resneck Pierce Professor of Humanities and Honors; Director, Honors Program

BA, Stanford University, 1977
MBA, University of Oregon, 1980
MA, St. John's College, 1995
MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

Committee

Martin Jackson

martin@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Mathematics

BS, University of Puget Sound, 1984, MS & PhD University of Oregon, 1985 & 1990

James Bernhard

jbernhard@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
(On leave Fall 2020)

BA, Princeton University, 1993
PhD, Harvard University, 2000

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies, Director, Bioethics, and John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values

BA, Indiana University, 1978
MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Alisa Kessel

akessel@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

BA, BS, MA, Arizona State University, 1998, 1998, 2000
PhD, Duke University, 2006

Kriszta Kotsis

kkotsis@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History and Co-director, Interdisciplinary Humanities

MA, Loránd Eötvös University, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2004

David C. Latimer

dlatimer@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, Physics

BA, Vanderbilt University, 1998
MS, DPhil, University of Oxford, 1999, 2002

Aislinn Melchior

amelchior@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies

BA, University of Washington, 1998
MA, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 2002, 2004

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

John R. Wesley

jwesley@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, English

BA, University of British Columbia, 2003
PhD, University of St Andrews, 2008