Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Professor

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English
(On Sabbatical Fall 2019)

BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Honors/Humanities/English, Susan Resneck Pierce Professor of Humanities and Honors

BA, Stanford University, 1977
MBA, University of Oregon, 1980
MA, St. John's College, 1995
MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

Committee

Michael Benveniste

mbenveniste@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, English

BA, MA, University of California-Santa Barbara, 2000, 2003
PhD, Stanford University, 2012

James Bernhard

jbernhard@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Mathematics and Computer Science

BA, Princeton University, 1993
PhD, Harvard University, 2000

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies, John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values, and Director, Bioethics Program 

BA, Indiana University, 1978
MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Alisa Kessel

akessel@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

BA, BS, MA, Arizona State University, 1998, 1998, 2000
PhD, Duke University, 2006

Kriszta Kotsis

kkotsis@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History
(On Sabbatical Academic Year 2019-20)

MA, Loránd Eötvös University, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2004

David C. Latimer

dlatimer@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Physics

BA, Vanderbilt University, 1998
MS, DPhil, University of Oxford, 1999, 2002

Aislinn Melchior

amelchior@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies, and 
Co-director, Honors Program

BA, University of Washington, 1998
MA, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 2002, 2004

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English, and 
Co-director, Honors Program

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

John R. Wesley

jwesley@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, English

BA, University of British Columbia, 2003
PhD, University of St Andrews, 2008