Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Governing Board

Greta G. Austin

ggaustin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies,  Director, Gender and Queer Studies Program
(On Sabbatical Spring 2020)

BA, Princeton University, 1990
MA, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1992
MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1996, 2000

Heather R. White

hwhite@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Gender and Queer Studies and Interim Director (Spring 2020)

BA, Eastern University, 1997
MDiv, Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000
PhD, Princeton University, 2007

Regina Duthely

rduthely@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, English

BA, St. John's University, 2007
MA, CUNY Queens College, 2011
PhD, St. John's University, 2017

Tanya Erzen

terzen@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Research Professor, Religious Studies and Gender & Queer Studies  BA, Brown University, 1995
MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1998, 2002

Laura Krughoff

lkrughoff@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, English

BA, Loyola University-Chicago, 2000
MFA, University of Michigan, 2003
PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago, 2014

Melvin Rouse

mrouse@pugetsound.edu
More Information
Assistant Professor, Psychology

BS in Psychology, Virginia Tech, 2004

MA in General Psychology, Boston University, 2005

PhD in Psychological and Brain Sciences, Johns Hopkins University, 2014

Advisory Board

Terence Beck

tbeck@pugetsound.edu
More Information 

Professor, Education

BA, Seattle Pacific University, 1979
MEd, University of Puget Sound, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2000

Gwynne K. Brown

gkbrown@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor, Music

BM, University of Puget Sound, 1995
MM, Indiana University, 1997
PhD, University of Washington, 2006

Lindsay Custer

lcuster@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of Iowa, 1989

MA, PhD, University of Michigan, 1994, 2005

Monica C. DeHart

mdehart@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology
James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Co-Professor

BA, University of California-Davis, 1994
MA, PhD, Stanford University, 1997, 2001

Yige Dong

yigedong@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Suzanne Wilson Barnett Chair in Contemporary China Studies, Assistant Professor, International Political Economy

 

Sara E. Freeman

sfreeman@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, Theatre Arts

BA, University of Puget Sound, 1995

MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1997, 2002

Poppy Fry

pfry@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On Sabbatical Spring 2020)

BA, Kenyon College, 2000
MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Religious Studies,  John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values, and Director, Bioethics Program

BA, Indiana University, 1978
MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Jairo A. Hoyos Galvis

jhoyosgalvis@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Studies, and Director, Latino/a Studies

BA, MA, Universidad de los Andes, Columbia, 2010, 2012
MA, PhD, University of Pittsburgh, 2013, 2016

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Co-Professor

BA, University of Maryland, 1988
PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Alisa Kessel

akessel@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

BA, BS, MA, Arizona State University, 1998, 1998, 2000
PhD, Duke University, 2006

Sam Kigar

skigar@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, Religious Studies

BA, Reed College, 2006

MA, PhD, Duke University, 2014, 2018

Hajung Lee

hjlee@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Bioethics

BSE, Duke University, 2000
JD, Seattle University School of Law, 2006
MA, Fuller Theological Seminary, 2010
MBE, Harvard Medical School, 2017 (expected)
PhD, Boston University, 2017 (expected)

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, History

BA, University of Virginia, 1996
MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Brett M. Rogers

bmrogers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Classics

BA, Reed College, 1999
PhD, Stanford University, 2005

Natalie Scenters-Zapico

nscenterszapico@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Poet in Residence, Latino/a Studies

 

Renee E. Simms

rsimms@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, African American Studies

BA, University of Michigan, 1988
JD, Wayne State University Law School, 1992
MFA, Arizona State University, 2007

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, History and Co-Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities

BA, Vassar College, 1998
MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Rokiatou Soumaré

rsoumare@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, French Studies

BA, MA, University of Perpignan-France, 2000, 2001
MA, PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2009, 2016

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies, and Chair, Religious Studies (Spring 2020)

(On Sabbatical Fall 2019)

BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English, and Co-director, Honors Program

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

Jennifer Utrata

jutrata@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of Chicago, 1992
MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 2001, 2008

Harry Velez-Quinones

velez@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Hispanic Studies

BA, Washington University, 1982
MA, PhD, Harvard University, 1983, 1990

Adrian Villicana

avillicana@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, Psychology

BA, University of Redlands, 2008
MA, California State University-San Bernardino, 2011
PhD, University of Kansas, 2017

Stacey Weiss

sweiss@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Biology

BS, University of California-Los Angeles, 1991
PhD, Duke University, 1999