Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Committee

Greta G. Austin

ggaustin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies,  Director, Gender and Queer Studies Program, and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professor

BA, Princeton University, 1990
MA, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1992
MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1996, 2000

Terence Beck

tbeck@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Education

BA, Seattle Pacific University, 1979
MEd, University of Puget Sound, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2000

Regina Duthley

rduthley@pugetsound.edu
More Information
Assistant Professor, English

 

BA, St. John's University, 2007
MA, CUNY Queens College, 2011
PhD, St. John's University, 2017

Tanya Erzen

terzen@pugetsound.edu
More Information
Associate Research Professor, Religion and Gender & Queer Studies

 

BA, Brown University, 1995
MPhil, PhD, New York University, 2002

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies,  John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values, and Director, Bioethics Program (Spring 2019)
(On Leave Fall 2018)

BA, Indiana University, 1978
MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Co-Professor

BA, University of Maryland, 1988
PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Alisa Kessel

akessel@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

BA, BS, MA, Arizona State University, 1998, 1998, 2000
PhD, Duke University, 2006

Laura Krughoff

lkrughoff@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, English

BA, Loyola University-Chicago, 2000
MFA, University of Michigan, 2003
PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago, 2014

Siddharth Ramakrishnan

sramakrishnan@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Biology and Jennie M. Caruthers Chair in Neuroscience, Director, Neuroscience Program
(On Leave Fall 2018)

BE, Birla Institute of Technology & Sciences-India, 2000
MS, PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago, 2002, 2005

Brett M. Rogers

bmrogers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Classics
(On Leave Spring 2019)

BA, Reed College, 1999
PhD, Stanford University, 2005

Melvin Rouse

mrouse@pugetsound.edu
More Information


Assistant Professor, Psychology

 

BS in Psychology, Virginia Tech, 2004

MA in General Psychology, Boston University, 2005

PhD in Psychological and Brain Sciences, Johns Hopkins University, 2014  

Renee E. Simms

rsimms@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, African American Studies
(On Leave Spring 2019)

BA, University of Michigan, 1988
JD, Wayne State University Law School, 1992
MFA, Arizona State University, 2007

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Religious Studies

BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English, and Co-director, Honors Program

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

Jennifer Utrata

jutrata@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of Chicago, 1992
MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 2001, 2008

Harry Velez-Quinones

velez@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Hispanic Studies
(On Leave Fall 2018)

BA, Washington University, 1982
MA, PhD, Harvard University, 1983, 1990

Stacey Weiss

sweiss@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Biology

BS, University of California-Los Angeles, 1991
PhD, Duke University, 1999

Heather R. White

hwhite@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Gender and Queer Studies

BA, Eastern University, 1997
MDiv, Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000
PhD, Princeton University, 2007