Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Governing Board

Laura Krughoff

lkrughoff@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor, English and Director, Gender & Queer Studies

BA, Loyola University-Chicago, 2000
MFA, University of Michigan, 2003
PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago, 2014

Greta G. Austin

ggaustin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies

BA, Princeton University, 1990
MA, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1992
MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1996, 2000

Regina Duthely

rduthely@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, English

(On leave Fall 2020)

BA, St. John's University, 2007
MA, CUNY Queens College, 2011
PhD, St. John's University, 2017

Tanya Erzen

terzen@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Research Professor, Religious Studies  BA, Brown University, 1995
MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1998, 2002

Sara E. Freeman

sfreeman@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor and Chair, Theatre Arts

BA, University of Puget Sound, 1995

MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1997, 2002

Jairo A. Hoyos Galvis

jhoyosgalvis@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Studies, and Director, Latino/a Studies

BA, MA, Universidad de los Andes, Columbia, 2010, 2012
MA, PhD, University of Pittsburgh, 2013, 2016

Melvin Rouse

mrouse@pugetsound.edu
More Information
Assistant Professor, Psychology
(On leave Spring 2021)

BS in Psychology, Virginia Tech, 2004

MA in General Psychology, Boston University, 2005

PhD in Psychological and Brain Sciences, Johns Hopkins University, 2014

Renee E. Simms

rsimms@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, African American Studies

BA, University of Michigan, 1988
JD, Wayne State University Law School, 1992
MFA, Arizona State University, 2007

Rokiatou Soumaré

rsoumare@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, French Studies
(On leave Spring 2021)

BA, MA, University of Perpignan-France, 2000, 2001
MA, PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2009, 2016

Heather R. White

hwhite@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Gender and Queer Studies

BA, Eastern University, 1997
MDiv, Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000
PhD, Princeton University, 2007

Advisory Board

Terence Beck

tbeck@pugetsound.edu
More Information 

Professor, Education

BA, Seattle Pacific University, 1979
MEd, University of Puget Sound, 1990
PhD, University of Washington, 2000

Gwynne K. Brown

gkbrown@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Music
(On leave Spring 2021)

BM, University of Puget Sound, 1995
MM, Indiana University, 1997
PhD, University of Washington, 2006

Monica C. DeHart

mdehart@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of California-Davis, 1994
MA, PhD, Stanford University, 1997, 2001

Poppy Fry

pfry@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor, History

BA, Kenyon College, 2000
MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, Religious Studies, Director, Bioethics, and John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values

BA, Indiana University, 1978
MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English 

BA, University of Maryland, 1988
PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Alisa Kessel

akessel@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

BA, BS, MA, Arizona State University, 1998, 1998, 2000
PhD, Duke University, 2006

Sam Kigar

skigar@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, Religious Studies

BA, Reed College, 2006

MA, PhD, Duke University, 2014, 2018

Hajung Lee

hjlee@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Bioethics

BSE, Duke University, 2000
JD, Seattle University School of Law, 2006
MA, Fuller Theological Seminary, 2010
MBE, Harvard Medical School, 2017 (expected)
PhD, Boston University, 2017 (expected)

Sam Liao

sliao@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Associate Professor, Philosophy

BA, Rutgers-the State University of New Jersey, 2005
MA, PhD, University Michigan, 2008, 2011

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, History

BA, University of Virginia, 1996
MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Brett M. Rogers

bmrogers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies

BA, Reed College, 1999
PhD, Stanford University, 2005

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Professor, History and Co-Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities

BA, Vassar College, 1998
MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Religious Studies

BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English

BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
MA, Boston University, 1989
MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
PhD, University of Washington, 2005

Jennifer Utrata

jutrata@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of Chicago, 1992
MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 2001, 2008

Stacey Weiss

sweiss@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Biology and William L. McCormick Professor of Natural Sciences

BS, University of California-Los Angeles, 1991
PhD, Duke University, 1999