Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION
Visiting Assistant Professor

Benjamin B. Ridgway

bridgway@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, Asian Studies Program

BA, Grinnell College, 1994
MA, University of Minnesota, 1999
PhD, University of Michigan, 2005

Committee

Gareth Barkin

barkin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology

BA, University of California, 1995
AM, PhD, Washington University, 2000, 2004

Karl Fields

kfields@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government
(On Leave Spring 2018)

BA, Brigham Young University, 1983
MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1984, 1990

Zaixin Hong

zhong@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History

BA, Zhejiang University, 1982
MA, PhD, China National Academy of Fine Arts, 1984, 1996

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Co-Professor

BA, University of Maryland, 1988
PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Nick Kontogeorgopoulos

konto@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, International Political Economy and Director, Global Development Studies

BA, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, 1992
MA, University of Toronto, 1994
PhD, University of British Columbia, 1998

Sunil Kukreja

kukreja@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology
Associate Academic Dean

BA, St. Cloud State University, 1985
MA, Kansas State University, 1987
PhD, American University, 1990

Jan Leuchtenberger

jleuchtenberger@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Director, Asian Studies and Director, Asian Languages and Cultures

BA, Grove City College, 1986
MA, Monterey Institute of International Studies, 1995
MA, PhD, University of Michigan, 2001, 2005

Mengjun Li

mengjunli@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, Asian Studies
(On Leave 2017-2018)

BA, Fudan University, Shanghai, China, 2007
MA, PhD, The Ohio State University, 2009, 2014

Sam Liao

sliao@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, Philosophy

BA, Rutgers-the State University of New Jersey, 2005 
MA, PhD, University Michigan, 2008, 2011

Mikiko Ludden

mludden@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies

BA, Kyoto Sangyo University, 1979
MA, Ohio University, 1986

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

BA, University of Virginia, 1996
MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Lo Sun Perry

perry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies

BA, Tunghai University-Taiwan, 1984
MA, University of Washington, 1986

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Religious Studies

BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Jonathan Stockdale

jstockdale@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religious Studies

BA, Kenyon College, 1987
MA, PhD, University of Chicago Divinity School, 1993, 2004

Andreas Udbye

audbye@pugetsound.edu

More Information

Assistant Professor, School of Business and Leadership

B.A., Pacific Lutheran University, 1983; M.B.A., University of Washington-Seattle, 1988; Ph.D., Portland State University, 2014