Department of Art and Art History

The Department of Art and Art History explores the wonder and complexity of visual art in theory and practice. Studio art students specialize in painting, printmaking, sculpture, or ceramics, learning a wide range of techniques and processes in specialized studio spaces. Art history students study diverse artistic traditions and develop strong analytical, research, presentation, and writing skills.


Liberal and Phenomenal, two group exhibitions, are open for viewing in Kittredge Gallery. The exhibit runs from October 2 - November 4. Gallery hours: M-F 10am-5pm, (most) Saturdays from 12noon-5pm. Please note the gallery will be closed Saturday, October 14.





Current student Ronda Peck will have a piece in the upcoming exhibition “Topeka Competition 33,” at the Alice C. Sabatini Gallery in Topeka, Kansas on view from November 10, 2017 – January 7, 2018.

Current student Monica Patterson, after receiving a scholarship from the Puget Sound Group Northwest Artists (PSGNA), will be participating in an upcoming exhibition at Art Head Gallery (5411 Meridian Ave. N. Seattle, WA 98103) from October 21st-December 1st 2017.

Current student Ian Chandler (Sculpture, 2018) is an artist in residence and will be showing this month at MOA, Colorado.


Professor Janet Marcavage will have a solo exhibition "Lineation" of prints at Augen Gallery in Portland, OR from November 2–December 2, 2017. Augen Gallery is at 716 NW Davis, Portland, OR 97209. Gallery hours are Tuesday–Saturday 11:00–5:30 and by appointment. The First Thursday Opening is: November 2, 5 – 8 pm.

Professor Chad Gunderson was recently published in "Cast: Art and Objects Made Using Humanity’s Most Transformational Process,” by Jen Townsend and Renee Zettle-Sterling from Schiffer Publishing.   

Professor Elise Richman received a Thomas Davis Teaching Award.  

Todd Jannausch (Studio Technician) and Professor Janet Marcavage are both awardees of the Greater Tacoma Community Foundation Art Award. A public reception for this year’s awardees will be held during the Third Thursday Art Walk on September 21, 2017 at the Spaceworks Gallery. 

Spaceworks Gallery

Exhibit Runs September 4 – October 19

The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation will honor ten Pierce County visual artists for the 10th Foundation of Art Award in recognition of the growth of the local arts community since the Award’s inception. This year’s awardees span a wide range of artistic mediums, from painting and sculpture, to fabric and letterpress.

Kittredge Gallery

Liberal and Phenomenal, two group exhibitions

Liberal and Phenomenal ​are two exhibits affiliated with the inaugural NW5 Painting Colloquium. Linda Besemer (see image), The James Irvine Distinguished Professor of the Arts at Occidental College, will be the colloquium's keynote speaker.

Liberal features work by the five painting professors who teach at the NW5 colleges: Michael Knutson (Reed College), Richard Martinez (Whitman), Cara Tomlinson (Lewis & Clark College), James Thompson (Willamette University), and Elise Richman (University of Puget Sound).

Phemonemal involves five painters, Eric Elliott, Anne Gale, Emily Gherard, Ron Graff, and Jan Reaves, whose work exemplifies painting’s phenomenal potential to represent and reveal subjective experience through its shared language.