City of Tacoma Green Ribbon Climate Action Task Force

On April 18, 2007, members of the Tacoma City Council approved resolution 36835 "calling for the establishment of baseline data and the development of numeric goals for the reduction of greenhouse gases."  To this end Mayor Bill Baarsma established the 26 member Green Ribbon Climate Action Task Force  to develop specific government and community greenhouse gas reduction measures by June 2008.  The taskforce has three working subcommittees:

  • Energy Supply & Use: explores heating, cooling, industry, lighting, green building
  • Transportation: explores transit, vehicle fuels, facilities, non-motorized transportation
  • Build & Unbuilt Environment: explores low-impact development, land use, open space, urban forest, sequestration, solid waste