Diversity Advisory Council

History of Diversity Strategic Planning

Since the creation of the Diversity Planning Task Force in academic year 2005-06, and the establishment of a Diversity Strategic Plan in December 2006, Puget Sound has worked diligently to address diversity and inclusion on campus. Out of the work undertaken by the Task Force, a more permanent college-wide institutional group, the Diversity Advisory Council (DAC) was established in September 2008.  DAC is a group charged with examining diversity, inclusion, and equity issues on campus with respect to policy and practice from multiple perspectives (including access, recruitment and retention, community connections and outreach to diverse constituents, and campus climate and culture). DAC works together with the President’s Cabinet leadership and Puget Sound constituents to engage the campus community in productive dialogue about campus climate issues and to make recommendations toward action.

DAC collaborates with Institutional Research (IR) to lead and carry out Puget Sound’s Campus Climate Survey focused on gauging collective change in experiences and perceptions of Puget Sound campus climate as reported by faculty, staff, and students, and is charged, in collaboration with the Cabinet, with developing and implementing the institution’s Diversity Strategic Plan. DAC reviews current efforts aimed at enhancing diversity in representation and practice, and considers which diversity goals and approaches might serve effective in furthering the university’s diversity and inclusion vision, and diversity statement.

The goals and objectives of the diversity strategic plan should be designed to serve as a vehicle to help move the university from its current state with regard to equity and inclusion, practice, and representation toward the future state to which we aspire. Important to the accountability of each strategic goal is the institution’s role in providing the human and financial capacity to effectively carry out said objectives.

Members of the AY 2020-21 Diversity Advisory Council

  • Sunil Kukreja (Chair), Interim Chief Diversity Officer
  • Amelia Bergen ‘21
  • Tim Beyer, Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Sandra Braedt, Title IX Coordinator, Equal Opportunity Officer
  • Kelly Brown, Director, Counseling, Health, & Wellness Services
  • Allison Cannady-Smith, AVP, Constituent Relations, Alumni and Parent Relations
  • Regina Duthely, Assistant Professor, English
  • Lea Fortmann, Assistant Professor, Economics
  • Brittney Jackson, Assistant Director of Admissions and Multicultural Admissions Coordinator
  • Mimi Molotsky '22
  • Alanna Muir, Assistant Director for Assessment, Institutional research
  • Vivie Nguyen, Director for Intercultural Engagement
  • Jada Pelger, Information Resources Coordinator, Collins Memorial Library
  • Ellen Peters, Associate Provost for Institutional Research, Planning and Student Success
  • Denise Powell, Training Specialist
  • Erin Ruff, Human Resources Manager
  • Tolu Taiwo, Assistant Director of Access Programs
  • Carolyn Weisz, Professor, Psychology
  • Dave Wright ’96, University Chaplain and Director for Spiritual Life and Civic Engagement



Diversity Advisory Council Report, 2019-2020 (campus access only, including analysis of results of 2018 Campus Climate Survey)