LGBT Leadership Scholarship

The Puget Sound LGBT Leadership Scholarship Fund was established in 2000 in order to recognize students who have demonstrated leadership and involvement in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community at the University of Puget Sound (including, but not limited to, participation in the Queer Alliance (Q&A), community organizations, and activist groups). The purpose of the scholarship is to complement successful academic experiences by providing financial support for student leadership and involvement in the LGBT community at Puget Sound. The committee welcomes applications from students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or as allies.

Applications no longer being accepted.

Scholarship Amount
To be determined.


Applicants must have all of the following qualifications:

  • Be a sophomore, junior, or senior during the 2015-16 academic year
  • Be enrolled, or planning to enroll, during the 2015 fall semester at the University of Puget Sound
  • Demonstrated involvement in promoting LGBT student activities at the University of Puget Sound and surrounding community
  • Demonstrated leadership in the promotion of a positive identity for LGBT students throughout the university and local community
  • Be in good academic standing

Application Procedure

LGBT Leadership Scholarship applicants must submit a short application.

Selection of recipients

Recipients will be chosen by a staff and faculty committee appointed by the Dean of Students.

Previous Recipients

2015 Winner- 
2014 Winner- Max Estevao
2013 Winner - Sam Mandry
2012 Winner - Michael Aiyar
2012 Winner - Clara Sciortino
2011 Winner - Jason Rison
2010 Winner - Lana McMullen
2009 Winner - Jillanna Nuske  
2008 Winner - Elizabeth Smith
2007 Winner - Skylar Bihl
2006 Winner - J.D. Barton
2005 Winner - Nell Shamrell
2004 Winner - Erica McGillivray
2003 Winner - Prairie Cutting
2002 Winner - Jason Ronbeck
2001 Winner - Jolie Harris