Events & Interest Meetings

Fall 2013 Events

PLANNING

Study Abroad Fair - September 24, 10 a.m.-2 p.m. @ Wheelock Rotunda

Join the annual study abroad fair on Tuesday September 24 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. in the WSC Rotunda! Stop in to check out the variety of study abroad programs offered through Puget Sound.  Program providers and former program participants will be there to answer your questions.

Brown Bag Lunch Series

  • Explore the four models of study abroad: Direct Enroll, Traditional, Internship, Research. Monday, September 16, Noon-1 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).
  • Puget Sound Spanish Study Abroad Programs: Wednesday October 2, Noon-1 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).
  • Study Abroad in the United Kingdom: Thursday, October 17, 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).
  • New Programs: Learn about the newly added programs for 2014-15 study abroad. Wednesday, October 30, Noon-1 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).
  • LGBT: Panel discussion about LGBT experiences and issues abroad. Thursday, November 14, 12:30-1:30 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).
  • Summer Programs: No time to study abroad during the semester? Come learn about summer programs! Wednesday, December 4, Noon-1 p.m. @ WSC BoardRoom (108).

Language/Program Specific Interest Meetings

  • German: Tuesday, October 29, 4 - 5 p.m., Wyatt 226
  • Dijon: Wednesday, November 13, 4 - 5 p.m, Wyatt 209
  • Oaxaca: Wednesday, December 4, 3:30 - 4:30 p.m, Wyatt 313

Puget Sound Essay Writing Workshops

  • Wednesday, November 13 from Noon - 1 p.m. (informational session), Writing Center

  • Monday, November 18 from 5 - 6 p.m. (drafting), Writing Center
  • Tuesday, December 3 from 5 - 6 p.m. (peer editing workshop), Writing Center

 

BEFORE YOU GO

SPRING 2014 Pre-Departure Meetings

See schedule here

 

RETURNING STUDENTS

  • Welcome Back Celebration: Tuesday, September 10, WSC Rotunda @ 4 p.m. Join fellow study abroad returnees, International Program Staff, and Puget Sound faculty for this welcome back reception.  Light hors d'oeuvres and refreshments will be served.
  • International Career Event: Resume Building & Going Abroad Again. Tuesday, September 17, 4 p.m. @ McCormick Room (Library 303).
  • Returnee Slideshow Event: Wednesday, October 2, 4 p.m. @ Tahoma Room in Commencement Hall. This event showcases photos from study abroad returnees.  Returnees are invited to share photos and experiences from abroad.  Contact International Programs if you want to participate in the slideshow.

 

OTHER EVENTS

International Hour

International Programs will be hosting a variety of informal international hours.  Come chat with other internationally-minded students on campus over some light refreshments.

  • Thursday, September 26, 4 p.m. @ Howarth 215
  • Thursday, October 31, 4 p.m. @ Howarth 215
  • Thursday, November 21, 4 p.m. @ Howarth 215
  • Thursday, December 12, 4 p.m. @Howarth 215

International Education Week

Monday November 4 - 8.