Faculty

Rob Beezer
Professor

Professor Beezer received his BS from University of Santa Clara and MS and PhD from University of Illinois.He teaches calculus, algebra (linear and abstract), combinatorics and cryptography. His research interests are primarily in graph theory (especially regular graphs and algebraic graph theory), but is also interested in combinatorics as a whole. Professor Beezer has been teaching at Puget Sound since 1984.

beezer@pugetsound.edu

Website

Sigrun Bodine
Professor

MA, San Diego State University, 1991

Diplom, University of Ulm, 1992

PhD, University of Southern California, 1998

bodine@pugetsound.edu

Website

Martin Jackson
Professor

 

BS, University of Puget Sound, 1984

MS, PhD, University of Oregon, 1985, 1990

His area of research is differential geometry. Professor Jackson has been teaching at Puget Sound since 1990.

martin@pugetsound.edu

Website

Brad Richards (Chair)
Professor

Professor Richards holds B.A. degrees in Physics and Computer Science, an M.Sc. in Computer Science, and earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin — Madison, where his research was on custom memory-system support for distributed shared-memory parallel computers. In addition to his continuing work on parallel and distributed computing, Dr. Richards is active in Computer Science education, having authored numerous papers on pedagogy and curricular issues. Professor Richards has been teaching at Puget Sound since 2005.

brichards@pugetsound.edu

Website

Mike Spivey
Professor

BS, Samford University, 1994

MS, Texas A & M University, 1997

MA, PhD, Princeton University, 1999, 2001

mspivey@pugetsound.edu

Website

 

James Bernhard
Associate Professor

BA, Princeton University

PhD, Harvard University

jbernhard@pugetsound.edu

Website

Carl Toews
Associate Professor

BA, Claremont McKenna College, 1994

MS, PhD, University of Virginia, 1997, 2002

ctoews@pugetsound.edu

Website

David Chiu
Assistant Professor

Professor Chiu received a BS and MS in Computer Science from Kent State University and a PhD in Computer Science and Engineering from the Ohio State University. He has taught courses on introductory computer science, databases, information retrieval & search engines, high-performance computing, and operating systems. Dr. Chiu's research interests include green computing, data-intensive computing, data management, and cloud computing. His current research projects involve building Big Data management and processing systems for the Smart Grid. In his free time, he enjoys traveling and hiking the Pacific Northwest with his family. He has been at Puget Sound since 2014.

dchiu@pugetsound.edu

Website

Adam Smith
Assistant Professor

BA, Lewis & Clark College, 1999

MS, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2002, 2009

adamasmith@pugetsound.edu

Website

Jason Preszler
Visiting Assistant Professor

BS, University of Puget Sound, 2002

MS, PhD, University of Utah, 2005, 2009

jpreszler@pugetsound.edu

Website

Joel Ross
Visiting Assistant Professor

Professor Ross recived a B.A. in Mathematics and English from Colorado College, and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Informatics from UC Irvine. He teaches Introduction to Computer Science, Data Structures, Computer Graphics, and Software Engineering. His research interests include social computing, human-computer interaction, and ubiquitous computing. Professor Ross has been at Puget Sound since 2012.

jross@pugetsound.edu

Website

 

Courtney Thatcher
Visiting Assistant Professor

BA, Boston University, 2001

MS, PhD, University of Chicago, 2003, 2007

cthatcher@pugetsound.edu

Wendy Dove
Instructor

BS, MAT, University of Puget Sound, 1985, 1991

wdove@pugetsound.edu

Website

Alison Paradise
Instructor

BS, University of Puget Sound, 1982

MS, Washington State University, 1988

paradise@pugetsound.edu

Website

Matthew Pickard
Instructor

BEd, University of Hawaii, 1980 MEd, University of Puget Sound, 1992

pickard@pugetsound.edu

Website

Emeriti Faculty

Professor Rosemary Hirschfelder

 

Professor Chuck Hommel

 

hommel@pugetsound.edu

Website

Professor Jerry Kerrick

 

kerrick@pugetsound.edu

Professor Bruce Lind

 

lind@pugetsound.edu

Professor Bob Matthews

 

matthews@pugetsound.edu

Website

 

Professor John Riegsecker

 

Professor David Scott

 

Professor Bryan Smith

 

bryans@pugetsound.edu

Website

Professor Ron Van Enkevort

 

In Memoriam

Professor John Lantz

Taught 1946 - 1987, died in 2006

Professor Ed Goman

Taught 1947 - 1984, died in 1987

Professor Carol Smith

Taught 1983 - 2003, died in 2012