Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

  • BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
  • MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Honors/Humanities/English, Susan Resneck Pierce Professor of Humanities and Honors, and Director, Honors and Humanities Programs.

  • BA, Stanford University, 1977
  • MBA, University of Oregon, 1980
  • MA, St. John's College, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

Kent Hooper

hooper@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, German Studies

  • BA, MA, PhD, Northwestern University, 1980, 1980, 1986

Visiting Associate Professor

Timothy Lulofs

tlulofs@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Associate Professor, Humanities/Honors/English

  • BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1973
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 1979, 1984

Committee

Geoffrey Block

block@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Music
(On Leave Fall 2015)

  • BA, University of California-Los Angeles, 1970
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 1973, 1979

William Breitenbach

wbreitenbach@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Harvard University, 1971
  • M Phil, PhD, Yale University, 1975, 1978

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

  • BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
  • MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

William Haltom

haltom@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

  • BA, MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1975, 1978, 1984

Zaixin Hong

zhong@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History

  • BA, Zhejiang University, 1982
  • MA, PhD, China National Academy of Fine Arts, 1984, 1996

Diane Kelley

dkelley@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, French Studies

  • BA, College of William and Mary, 1990
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1993, 1998

Mita Mahato

mmahato@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, English

  • BA, University of California-San Diego, 1996
  • MA, PhD, University of Oregon, 1999, 2003

Eric Orlin

eorlin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Classics

  • BA, Yale University, 1986
  • PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1994

Geoffrey Proehl

gproehl@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Theatre Arts
(On Leave AY 2015-2016)

  • BS, George Fox College, 1973
  • MFA, Wayne State University, 1977
  • PhD, Stanford University, 1988

Steven Rodgers

rodgers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, French Studies

  • BA, University of Oregon, 1979
  • Diplome Superieur d'Etudes Francaises, Universite de Poitiers, 1980
  • MA, University of Oregon, 1982

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, History

  • BA, Vassar College, 1998
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Religion

  • BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Harry Velez-Quinones

velez@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Hispanic Studies and Co-Director, Gender and Queer Studies

  • BA, Washington University, 1982
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 1983, 1990