Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

  • BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
  • MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

Andrew Rex

rex@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Physics

  • BA, Illinois Wesleyan University, 1977
  • PhD, University of Virginia, 1982

Associate Professor

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Humanities/Honors/English and Director, Honors Program

  • BA, Stanford University, 1977
  • MBA, University of Oregon, 1980
  • MA, St. John's College, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

Committee

James Bernhard

jbernhard@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science
(On Leave Fall 2013)

  • BA, Princeton University, 1993
  • PhD, Harvard University, 2000

Suzanne Holland

sholland@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Religion and John B. Magee Professor of Science and Values

  • BA, Indiana University, 1978
  • MA, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1991
  • PhD, Graduate Theological Union, 1997

Kristin Johnson

kristinjohnson@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Science, Technology and Society Program

  • BA, University of Washington, 1997
  • MA, PhD, Oregon State University, 2000, 2003

Kriszta Kotsis

kkotsis@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Art

  • MA, Loránd Eötvös University, 1990
  • PhD, University of Washington, 2004

Paul Loeb

loeb@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Philosophy and Susan Resneck Pierce Professor of Humanities and Honors

  • BA, Cornell University, 1981
  • PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1991

Aislinn Melchior

amelchior@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Classics
(On Leave Spring 2014)

  • BA, University of Washington, 1998
  • MA, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 2002, 2004

Andrew Rex

rex@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Physics

  • BA, Illinois Wesleyan University, 1977
  • PhD, University of Virginia, 1982

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, History

  • BA, Vassar College, 1998
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004