Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

William Breitenbach

wbreitenbach@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Harvard University, 1971
  • M Phil, PhD, Yale University, 1975, 1978

Nancy Bristow

nbristow@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Colorado College, 1980
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1983, 1989

John Lear

lear@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professor, History

  • BA, Harvard University, 1982
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1986, 1993

Douglas Sackman

dsackman@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professor

  • BA, Reed College, 1990
  • PhD, University of California--Irvine, 1997

Associate Professor

Poppy Fry

pfry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On Leave AY 2015-2016)

  • BA, Kenyon College, 2000
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History

  • BA, University of Virginia, 1996
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, History

  • BA, Vassar College, 1998
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Benjamin Tromly

btromly@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On Leave Spring 2016)

  • BA, Grinnell College, 1999
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Visiting Assistant Professor

John F. Straussberger III

jstraussberger@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, History

  • BA, Davidson College, 2005
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 2010, 2012, 2015

Iain P. Watts

iwatts@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, History and Science, Technology, and Society

  • BA, MMath, University of Cambridge, 2005, 2006
  • MSc, University College and Imperial College-London, 2008
  • MA, PhD, Princeton University, 2011, 2015