Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

William Barry

bbarry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Classics / Professor, History

  • BA, Whitman College, 1980
  • MA, PhD, University of Michigan, 1984, 1988

William Breitenbach

wbreitenbach@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Harvard University, 1971
  • M Phil, PhD, Yale University, 1975, 1978

Nancy Bristow

nbristow@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Colorado College, 1980
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1983, 1989

John Lear

lear@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professor, History
(On Leave 2013-2014)

  • BA, Harvard University, 1982
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1986, 1993

Douglas Sackman

dsackman@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History and James Dolliver National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professor
(On Leave 2013-2014)

  • BA, Reed College, 1990
  • PhD, University of California--Irvine, 1997

David Smith

dfsmith@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor Emeritus, History

  • BA, Bristol University, 1963
  • MA, Washington University, 1965
  • PhD, University of Toronto, 1972

Associate Professor

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On Leave Spring 2014)

  • BA, University of Virginia, 1996
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Katherine Smith

kasmith2@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, History

  • BA, Vassar College, 1998
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, New York University, 1999, 2001, 2004

Benjamin Tromly

btromly@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History

  • BA, Grinnell College, 1999
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Assistant Professor

Poppy Fry

pfry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, History

  • BA, Kenyon College, 2000
  • MA, PhD, Harvard University, 2002, 2007

Visiting Assistant Professor

Melisa Galvan

mgalvan@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, History

  • BA, MA, University of California-Berkeley, 2005, 2006
  • PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 2013

Michelle Garceau

mgarceau@pugetsound.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor, History

  • BA, Washington University-St. Louis, 2002
  • MA, University College-London, 2003
  • MA, PhD, Princeton University, 2005, 2009