Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

Julie Nelson Christoph

jchristoph@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English / Director, Center for Writing, Learning, and Teaching

  • BA, Carleton College, 1993
  • MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1996, 2002

Denise Despres

ddespres@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Humanities, Honors, and English

  • BA, University of Notre Dame, 1979
  • MA, PhD, Indiana University, 1980, 1985

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English
(On Leave AY 2014-2015)

  • BA, University of Maryland, 1988
  • PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Hans Ostrom

ostrom@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies and English

  • BA, MA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 1975, 1978, 1982

Ronald Thomas

president@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English / President

  • BA, Wheaton College, 1971
  • MA, PhD, Brandeis University, 1978, 1983

Associate Professor

George Erving

gerving@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Humanities/Honors/English and Director, Honors and Humanities Programs

  • BA, Stanford University, 1977
  • MBA, University of Oregon, 1980
  • MA, St. John's College, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1996, 2005

William Kupinse

wkupinse@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Chair, English

  • BA, Colby College, 1989
  • MA, Bucknell University, 1995
  • MA, PhD, Vanderbilt University, 1996, 1999

Tiffany Aldrich MacBain

tamacbain@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, English

  • MA, California State University-Sacramento, 1998
  • BA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 1991, 2004

Mita Mahato

mmahato@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, English

  • BA, University of California-San Diego, 1996
  • MA, PhD, University of Oregon, 1999, 2003

Alison Tracy Hale

ajtracy@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Associate Chair, English

  • BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1985
  • MA, Boston University, 1989
  • MA, San Francisco State University, 1995
  • PhD, University of Washington, 2005

John R. Wesley

jwesley@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, English
(On Leave Spring 2015)

  • BA, University of British Columbia, 2003
  • PhD, University of St Andrews, 2008

Assistant Professor

Michael Benveniste

mbenveniste@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, English

  • BA, MA, University of California-Santa Barbara, 2000, 2003
  • PhD, Stanford University, 2012

Laura Krughoff

lkrughoff@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Assistant Professor, English

  • BA, Loyola University-Chicago, 2000
  • MFA, University of Michigan, 2003
  • PhD, University of Illinois-Chicago, 2014

Visiting Associate Professor

Timothy Lulofs

tlulofs@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Associate Professor, Humanities/Honors/English

  • BA, University of California-Berkeley, 1973
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 1979, 1984

Visiting Assistant Professor

Darcy Irvin

dirvin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor

  • BA, University of California-Los Angeles, 2002
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 2004, 2011

Allen Jones

allenjones@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor

  • BA, University of California-Santa Cruz, 1997
  • MFA, University of New Mexico-Albuquerque, 2007
  • PhD, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, 2012

Suzanne E. Warren

sewarren@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, English

  • AB, Bryn Mawr College, 2000
  • MFA, University of Florida, 2004
  • PhD, University of Cincinnati, 2011

Instructor

Beverly Conner

bconner@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, English

  • BA, University of Puget Sound, 1978
  • MA, University of Washington, 1986

Ann Putnam

aputnam@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, English

  • BA, Seattle Pacific University, 1967
  • MA, PhD, University of Washington, 1979, 1984