Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Associate Professor

Gareth Barkin

barkin@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Sociology & Anthropology and Asian Studies Program

  • BA, University of California, 1995
  • AM, PhD, Washington University, 2000, 2004

Jan Leuchtenberger

jleuchtenberger@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Director, Asian Studies Program and Director, Asian Languages and Cultures

  • BA, Grove City College, 1986
  • MA, Monterey Institute of International Studies, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Michigan, 2001, 2005

Visiting Assistant Professor

David N C Hull

dhull@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor

  • BA, MA, University of California-Santa Barbara, 2003, 2006
  • PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 2012

Instructor

Mikiko Ludden

mludden@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies Program

  • BA, Kyoto Sangyo University, 1979
  • MA, Ohio University, 1986

Lo Sun Perry

perry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies Program

  • BA, Tunghai University-Taiwan, 1984
  • MA, University of Washington, 1986

Committee

Elisabeth Benard

ebenard@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Associate Professor, Asian Studies
(Fall 2014 only.)

  • BA, MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1980, 1982, 1984, 1990

Karl Fields

kfields@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Politics and Government

  • BA, Brigham Young University, 1983
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1984, 1990

Zaixin Hong

zhong@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Art and Art History

  • BA, Zhejiang University, 1982
  • MA, PhD, China National Academy of Fine Arts, 1984, 1996

David N C Hull

dhull@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor

  • BA, MA, University of California-Santa Barbara, 2003, 2006
  • PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 2012

Priti Joshi

pjoshi@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, English
(On Leave AY 2014-2015)

  • BA, University of Maryland, 1988
  • PhD, Rutgers University, 1998

Nick Kontogeorgopoulos

konto@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, International Political Economy

  • BA, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, 1992
  • MA, University of Toronto, 1994
  • PhD, University of British Columbia, 1998

Sunil Kukreja

kukreja@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Sociology & Anthropology / Associate Academic Dean

  • BA, St. Cloud State University, 1985
  • MA, Kansas State University, 1987
  • PhD, American University, 1990

Jan Leuchtenberger

jleuchtenberger@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor and Director, Asian Studies Program and Director, Asian Languages and Cultures

  • BA, Grove City College, 1986
  • MA, Monterey Institute of International Studies, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Michigan, 2001, 2005

Mikiko Ludden

mludden@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies Program

  • BA, Kyoto Sangyo University, 1979
  • MA, Ohio University, 1986

Jennifer Neighbors

jneighbors@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, History
(On Leave Fall 2014)

  • BA, University of Virginia, 1996
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, 1999, 2004

Lo Sun Perry

perry@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Instructor, Asian Studies Program

  • BA, Tunghai University-Taiwan, 1984
  • MA, University of Washington, 1986

Stuart Smithers

smithers@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor and Chair, Religion

  • BA, San Francisco State University, 1980
  • MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, 1984, 1985, 1992

Jonathan Stockdale

jstockdale@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Religion

  • BA, Kenyon College, 1987
  • MA, PhD, University of Chicago Divinity School, 1993, 2004