Faculty

NAME POSITION EDUCATION

Professor

Dexter Gordon

dgordon@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies and Communication Studies / Director, African American Studies Program

  • BA, Jamaica Theological Seminary, 1984
  • MA, Wheaton College, 1991
  • PhD, Indiana University, 1998

Hans Ostrom

ostrom@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, African American Studies and English

  • BA, MA, PhD, University of California-Davis, 1975, 1978, 1982

Associate Professor

Grace Livingston

glivingston@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, African American Studies Program

  • BA, Jamaica Theological Seminary, 1984
  • MS, PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1991, 2003

Visiting Assistant Professor

Renee E. Simms

rsimms@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Visiting Assistant Professor, African American Studies

  • BA, University of Michigan, 1988
  • JD, Wayne State University Law School, 1992
  • MFA, Arizona State University, 2007

Committee

Nancy Bristow

nbristow@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, History

  • BA, Colorado College, 1980
  • MA, PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1983, 1989

Rachel DeMotts

rdemotts@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Politics and Government and Environmental Policy and Decision Making Program

  • BA, Marquette University, 1995
  • MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2000, 2005

Robin Jacobson

rjacobson@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Associate Professor, Politics and Government

  • BS, Johns Hopkins University, 1996
  • PhD, University of Oregon, 2004

James Jasinski

jjasinski@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Communication Studies

  • BA, MA, Northern Illinois University, 1978, 1980
  • PhD, Northwestern University, 1986

A. Susan Owen

sowen@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Communication Studies

  • BA, MA, University of Alabama, 1976, 1978
  • PhD, University of Iowa, 1989

Carolyn Weisz

cweisz@pugetsound.edu
More Information

Professor, Psychology

  • BA, Stanford University, 1987
  • MA, PhD, Princeton University, 1989, 1992