Occupational Therapy Faculty & Staff

The University of Puget Sound Occupational Therapy Faculty are recognized experts in their fields of study in both national and international venues.  Faculty expertise covers the depth and breadth of occupational therapy practice and education including: mental health interventions, low vision rehabilitation, aging-in-place, geriatrics, pediatrics, rehabilitation of those with orthopedic or neurological conditions, school-based services, ergonomics, teaching and learning, and research. The breadth of faculty expertise is critical in helping students prepare for the extensive opportunities in entry-level occupational therapy practice and the depth of expertise enables students to engage in collaborative research projects and selected learning activities that provide insight into the professional opportunities of expert occupational therapy. Students have the unique opportunity of learning from highly innovative and experienced faculty members who are supportive, accessible and passionate about teaching the next generation of Occupational Therapy practioners.

Professors
Associate Professor
Clinical Associate Professor
Clinical Assistant Professors
Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor
Adjunct Faculty
Staff

 

Professors 

 

Anne B. JamesAnne B. James, PhD, OTR/L
Associate Director of Occupational Therapy
abjames@pugetsound.edu

Yvonne SwinthYvonne Swinth, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
Director of Occupational Therapy
yswinth@pugetsound.edu

George TomlinGeorge Tomlin, PhD, OTR/L
Distinguished Professor of Occupational Therapy
tomlin@pugetsound.edu

Associate Professor

Tatiana KaminskyTatiana Kaminsky, PhD, OTR/L
tkaminsky@pugetsound.edu

Clinical Associate Professor

Martins LinautsMartins Linauts PT, PhD
mlinauts@pugetsound.edu

Clinical Assistant Professors

Sue Doyle

Sue Doyle, PhC MS OTR/L CFE
Clinic Coordinator
sdoyle@pugetsound.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor

Lucretia A. BergLucretia A. Berg, MSOT, OTR/L
lberg@pugetsound.edu

Adjunct Faculty

The University of Puget Sound Occupational Therapy Program remains committed to bringing the students current best practice by employing local occupational therapy practitioners with specific content expertise as adjunct faculty members. Each adjunct is a crucial member of the faculty by bringing current clinical expertise into selected classes relevant to their content expertise. In addition, adjunct faculty serve as clinical instructors in our community-based and on-site clinics, thus providing students with a critical link to support their transition from classroom to internships and then into entry-level practice.

 

Julie Anderson, OTR/L
janderson@pugetsound.edu

 

Kristin Brubaker, MOT, OTR/L
kbrubaker@pugetsound.edu

 

Elizabeth Burris, MOT, OTR
eburris@pugetsound.edu

 

Marie DeBenedictis, MOT, OTR/L
mdebenedictis@pugetsound.edu

 

Cathy Elvins, BSOT, OTR/L, CHT
celvins@pugetsound.edu

 

Leah Guthrie, MOT, OTR/L
lguthrie@pugetsound.edu

 

Dawn Heino, OTR/L
dheino@pugetsound.edu

 

Heather Juan, MOT, OTR/L
hjuan@pugetsound.edu 

 

Juli McGruder, PhD, OTR
Professor Emerita
jmcgruder@pugetsound.edu

 

Julie Moore, BSOT, OTR/L
jmoore@pugetsound.edu

 

Elizabeth Munk, MOT, OTR/L

emunk@pugetsound.edu

 

Wendell Nakamura, MOT, OTR/L
wnakamura@pugetsound.edu

 

Kay Robbins, MSOT, OTR/L
kdallal@pugetsound.edu

 

Evonne Ryken, MEd, OTR/L
eryken@pugetsound.edu 

 

Kari Tanta, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
ktanta@pugetsound.edu

 

Dawn Yoshimura-Smith, BSOT, OTR/L
dsmith@pugetsound.edu

 

Debra Zahnow, MOT, OTR/L
dzahnow@pugetsound.edu

Staff

Valerie Walston

vwalston@pugetsound.edu