Contact Human Resources

To contact the staff below, please email hr@pugetsound.edu or call 253.879.3369. For Payroll inquiries, please email payroll@listhost.ups.edu or call 253.879.3416.

 

 

 

Xanthia Alexander
HRIS Analyst
xalexander@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.2699

Xanthia Staff picture                                    

  • HR information systems / PeopleSoft HR subject matter expert
  • Reports, queries and employment data analysis

 

 

 

Alyssa Newell

Human Resources Office Assistant
alyssanewell@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3370

  • General Human Resources Inquiries
  • Verifications of Employment
  • HR Reception Services
  • Human Resources Master Calendar
  • HR Conference Room Reservation requests
  • Requests for Forms
  • HR Record Keeping
  • Application Tracking Assistance
  • Performance Review Program
  • Professional Development and Enrichment Conference
  • Staff Recognition Luncheon

Christine Hernandez
Payroll Manager
chernandez@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.2841

  • Manages payroll
  • Time sheets  
  • Paychecks
  • Form W-2s (wage & tax statements)
  • Tax reporting for international faculty, staff, student staff
  • Other payroll tax issues
  • Direct deposits
  • Form W-4 (federal withholding) changes

Katie Holmes

Katie Holmes
Director of Compensation & Benefits
kholmes@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3416

  • Compensation and benefits program direction and oversight
  • Budgeting for benefits and staff salaries
  • Staff salary increases and pay ranges
  • Oversight of staff compensation analysis and classifications
  • Job description guidance
  • Salary offers
  • FLSA determinations
  • ADA accommodations (in partnership with Director of Human Resources)
  • Member of the Retirement Plan Advisory Committee (RPAC)
  • Manages the annual benefits open enrollment process and health fair
  • Manages legally-required benefits filings and notifications
  • Oversight of benefit contracts, plan documents, and summary plan descriptions
  • Salary and benefit surveys
  • Fiscal year roll for compensation budget
  • Total compensation statements

Cindy Matern

Cindy Matern
Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Career & Employment Services
cmatern@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3116

Janice Jackson-Haley
Director of Human Resources
jjacksonhaley@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3541

Donelle Pearson

Donelle Pearson, PHR, SHRM-CP
DCS HR Representative
drpearson@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.1568

Key duties specific to Dining and Conference Services:

  • Recruitment
  • Employment
  • Eligibility to Work (e.g., I-9, Visa status, immigration)
  • Employee Relations 
  • Professional development and training
  • Liaison between DCS staff and university Human Resources team
  • Performance Management

Erin Ruff

Erin Ruff
Human Resources Generalist
eruff@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3640

  • Recruitment
  • Advertising
  • Interviewing
  • Hiring Processes
  • Eligibility to Work (e.g., I-9, Visa status, immigration)
  • Staff Recruitment Expenses
  • Staff Moving Reimbursements
  • Professional Development
  • Leave Benefits

Kenni Simons
Benefits Manager
krsimons@pugetsound.edu or 253.879.3296